Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2015, 03:29 AM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default mac & raid

hi there,

the time has come once again for me to upgrade my system. I'm currently on a 2008 Mac Pro, which is working fine but I'm getting the feeling it's not going to last much longer.

Just wanted to see if people are running the new Mac Pro with a Raid system, if you are how is it running? Did you go with a higher than normal spec mac? I'm trying to figure out how much I need to spend. Or are people using the mac previous to the newer (stupid looking) mac pro??

Any tips or warnings??

Thanks!
Steve
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2015, 04:26 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default

what kind of RAID are you talking about for what kind of benefit are you looking for?
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2015, 10:23 AM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
what kind of RAID are you talking about for what kind of benefit are you looking for?
Not sure really. Just assumed something like a RAID drive bay would work best when you have one of those new macs (with limited storage in the box)?
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2015, 01:47 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default

OK I see what your thinking, a multidrive box
I would go with something Thunderbolt and run it in JBOD mode
I do not have a recommendation on a specific brand
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2015, 02:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,248
Default mac & raid

I am not sure how you hope to get very useful advice if you provide absolutely no information about what you are using the system for. We have no idea what you hope to do with this sysem: 8 tracks in a bedroom or doing 100 track VI based movie compositions, 300 track movie post or what. Whether you don't use VIs at all or have many TB of samples online etc.

Given zero information: For lower performance needs (i.e. what many of us actually do with Pro Tools), if you don't need a lot of space just use the internal super fast PCIe SSD in the Mac Pro for everything, boot/samples/sessions etc.. Either way that disk is so fast and so good that most purchasers should max out the size of the SSD in the system they order. Or if you need even more storage get a _good_ model/spec SSD in a Thunderbolt JBOD box, either roll your own or a pre-built. Forget RAID, especially with SSDs. HDD only if you need a huge amount of storage for things like video or samples (but even for samples it's hard to argue against the just all around great performance of a good SSD). Now whether you should be using SATA or PCIe SSD for external storage, and how many drives you might need, is another whole question.

A very good pre-build high-performance PCie based SSD is the Lacie Little Big Disk 2 Thunderbolt. http://www.amazon.com/LaCie-Little-T.../dp/B00J2CDX06. If you are spending top $ on a Mac Pro trash can this is the kind of storage you need to do to get performance similar to the Mac Pro internal SSD. Whether you need that class of performance, for what you do, ... who knows.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 05-17-2015 at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2015, 01:23 AM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I am not sure how you hope to get very useful advice if you provide absolutely no information about what you are using the system for. We have no idea what you hope to do with this sysem: 8 tracks in a bedroom or doing 100 track VI based movie compositions, 300 track movie post or what. Whether you don't use VIs at all or have many TB of samples online etc.

Given zero information: For lower performance needs (i.e. what many of us actually do with Pro Tools), if you don't need a lot of space just use the internal super fast PCIe SSD in the Mac Pro for everything, boot/samples/sessions etc.. Either way that disk is so fast and so good that most purchasers should max out the size of the SSD in the system they order. Or if you need even more storage get a _good_ model/spec SSD in a Thunderbolt JBOD box, either roll your own or a pre-built. Forget RAID, especially with SSDs. HDD only if you need a huge amount of storage for things like video or samples (but even for samples it's hard to argue against the just all around great performance of a good SSD). Now whether you should be using SATA or PCIe SSD for external storage, and how many drives you might need, is another whole question.

A very good pre-build high-performance PCie based SSD is the Lacie Little Big Disk 2 Thunderbolt. http://www.amazon.com/LaCie-Little-T.../dp/B00J2CDX06. If you are spending top $ on a Mac Pro trash can this is the kind of storage you need to do to get performance similar to the Mac Pro internal SSD. Whether you need that class of performance, for what you do, ... who knows.
Hi there,

yes, you're dead right, apologies for the extreme vagueness of the query! I run sessions of about 30-40 tracks (I'm a composer for tv/film etc), with a huge amount of samples libraries/VIs and plugins. I need about 5TB of storage for sessions and sample libraries/samples etc, so figure a RAID type system would be necessary. Looking at the JBOD options now, seems like a good way to go.
thanks for the advice!
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2015, 01:24 AM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
OK I see what your thinking, a multidrive box
I would go with something Thunderbolt and run it in JBOD mode
I do not have a recommendation on a specific brand
thanks Craig, two votes for JBOD. Appreciate it!
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To RAID or not to RAID, that is the question... raducanmihai Windows 20 03-28-2014 10:37 AM
To RAID or not to RAID in Mac Pro 2009 derhamm macOS 2 10-30-2012 09:49 AM
To RAID or not to RAID...that is the question Ross H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 50 01-16-2005 07:27 AM
On Board Raid or PCI Raid Adapter ??? Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-21-2002 06:16 AM
When is a RAID really a RAID? Will this increase track count? ThomCat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-25-2000 12:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com