Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2007, 07:37 PM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

a long time ago i read something that was talking about nudging a track to allow for the delay of effects on the track....there was some way to get the readout of miliseconds track delay in the window under the faders...i checked everything i have and cant find no info on it...anyone?
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:05 PM
xnorfin xnorfin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 67
Default Re: Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

Hold "Ctrl" and click on the track volume to cycle through the Fader Level, Peak Level, and Latency. Now make sure your nudge is set to "Samples" and input the latency value as your nudge value. Finally select the track(s) and nudge it(them) backwards.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:08 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

here was the lastest discussion... one latency discussion thread

also...also, to check to see exactly how much latency your plugs are addin' to your trax... in the mix window, cntl+click while pointer is in volume level indicator (do this twice) and the second value shown is the amount of latency on the track. it is in samples
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:32 PM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Re: Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

thanks for the replies....im playing around with it now.......the first number is my fader and that seems to be right but when i go crl/click the second numbers that you guys say is the latency of the plug in looks like a sideways 8.....i even plugged in amplitude on the track to make it grunt and still had the sideways 8 looking thing...any idea what i have set wrong?
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:45 PM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Re: Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

i might have just found the problem but cant seem to fix it......i noticed when go to display/mix window shows.....the delay compensation thing is not checked and im not able to check it for some reason...


the place where youd check delay compensation view is not highlighted like it is somehow not enabled and so i cant check it to enable it.....anyone??????
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:35 PM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Re: Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

well for what ever reason it does not show me plug in latency under the fader......if you got a clue id sure like to know...thanks
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:35 PM
xnorfin xnorfin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 67
Default Re: Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

The third number is actually the latency (it should show this "dly #") ...the second is the peak value.

And if you inserted Amplitube 1, it does not induce latency (I think), so the value will be "0".
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:08 PM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Re: Nudging a track to compensate for FX latency?

yes the third number was zero.......k i guess i miss understood and thought the second set of numbers was the delay...thanks!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to compensate for analog summing mixer hardware latency? ryanstewartguitar Pro Tools 10 12 08-23-2020 01:37 AM
Best way to compensate for REC input latency? vieris Pro Tools 9 4 07-18-2011 07:35 AM
Does PT LE Compensate for plugins latency OR NOT? How much!? Retinal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-08-2008 07:39 PM
Can you compensate for latency with outboard send effects? bukman Tips & Tricks 4 10-05-2007 06:29 AM
Does HD compensate for latency WRX07 General Discussion 6 10-10-2005 02:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com