Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2006, 09:49 PM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default pitch bend range in Xpand!

Hey forum. According to the Xpand! PDF docs, it says pitch bend range is a RPN. I'm not too versed in using RPN's to affect parameter changes so how would one go about modifying the pitch bend range using the RPN? with a sysex command?
__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2006, 11:29 PM
Mozepy Mozepy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nevada
Posts: 236
Default Re: pitch bend range in Xpand!

It's all done with controllers. The parameter is selected be sending values for controller 101 and 100 (I believe in that order) Then the value for the chosen parameter is set with controller 6. I believe you have to send all 3 messages for each change. I only messed with it briefly on my D110 which only supported one parameter: Pitch Bend Range

Edit:

It's explained on Page 15 of the manual and it look like it's 100,101,6 and Xpand! supports a grand total of 2 parameters
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2006, 05:12 AM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default Re: pitch bend range in Xpand!

Thanks for the info Mozepy. I saw pg. 15 in the Xpand! manual which is what spurred my question in the first place. I did a little research on RPN's as well so I'll give it a shot...
__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2006, 08:37 AM
musicalavtech musicalavtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Piqua, oHIo
Posts: 509
Default Re: pitch bend range in Xpand!

If I'm correct, after you send the controller message for 101 and 100 one time, you can just change cc6 anytime, unless you use different cc's/rpn's for another parameter.
__________________
OSX10.6.8, 1st gen Power Mac,
PT8.0.5, Mbox2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2006, 02:56 PM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default Re: pitch bend range in Xpand!

hey, whaddya know! it works....sorta'....

assigned two physical controllers to 100 and 101 and a third to cc6. turn 100 and 101 simultaneously and then twist 6 and I have an octave worth of pitch bend. unfortunately that's where it stays. Still fiddling around with it to maybe do a perfect 7th or something but so far no dice.

thanks for pointing me in the right direction! cheers!
__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change pitch wheel bend range in Midi event operations phair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-24-2018 08:21 PM
Pitch Bend range paulrgmusic Virtual Instruments 5 02-20-2009 04:36 PM
Xpand Pitch Bend Erik88 Virtual Instruments 3 05-28-2007 08:40 PM
Change Pitch Bend Range in Xpand! JohnLochner Virtual Instruments 0 04-06-2006 02:10 PM
Adjusting Pitch Bend Range on PC rwjaglee Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 03-08-2002 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com