Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-17-2020, 03:31 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,331
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

Back then I think it had something to do with PT adding "minus time" to the timeline, to give flexibility.


I think I found a workaround, like zooming out and moving clips one hour, or something like that. Maybe there was a way to move start time, I can't remeber, but keep the faith. This is not the end.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-17-2020, 03:37 PM
Snafu Snafu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

I can change the session start to -1 hour, or to zero, but it's still not playing anything or linking cursor to playing I don't understand how it's now carrying across sessions...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-17-2020, 03:40 PM
Snafu Snafu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

OK, loop playback is grayed out!! Is this a hint to any ideas???
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-17-2020, 03:44 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,331
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
OK, loop playback is grayed out!! Is this a hint to any ideas???
Do you use a mouse to select a portion of the timeline?
Also: what version PT and OS?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-17-2020, 03:46 PM
Snafu Snafu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

I do use a mouse. I'm on Pt 8.05 and Win10, have been for a while. Just noticed that its the only thing that's enabled on my other sessions that i can still edit that I can't enable on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-17-2020, 03:50 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,331
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
I do use a mouse. I'm on Pt 8.05 and Win10, have been for a while. Just noticed that its the only thing that's enabled on my other sessions that i can still edit that I can't enable on this one.
You should know that PT8 is not compatible w/W10. Not even PT10 was. I'm not saying that's your problem, but well...
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-17-2020, 03:57 PM
Snafu Snafu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

It seems odd to suddenly strike like this...maybe if i had updated or something i would understand but midway through a session? And with all my other sessions still working? I feel like it will be the thing you fixed!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-17-2020, 04:06 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,331
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
It seems odd to suddenly strike like this...maybe if i had updated or something i would understand but midway through a session? And with all my other sessions still working? I feel like it will be the thing you fixed!
I'd say, if you try to run PT8 on W10 then expect odd things to happen! They weren't made to play toghether.

Did you try to zoom out, locate the clips, select the portion, and play?
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-17-2020, 04:14 PM
Snafu Snafu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

I'm about to reinstall in case it helps...wish i could revert to Win8 regret going to 10 massively but really terrible with computers and don't know how. Will see if I can run PT on compatibility mode...but still my instinct says if I've had 9 months with no problems (outside using the silent way plug in) it seems weird to go to completely non functional. I do appreciate your time and don't mean to dismiss that it could be that, just don't want to give up I guess and given that you faced such a similar problem i still have hope.

The clips are locateable and selectable, but nothing plays (also on new sessions now nothing imported plays...my old sessions all work!).
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-17-2020, 04:28 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,331
Default Re: Sudden Issue With Playback on One Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
I'm about to reinstall in case it helps...wish i could revert to Win8 regret going to 10 massively but really terrible with computers and don't know how. Will see if I can run PT on compatibility mode...but still my instinct says if I've had 9 months with no problems (outside using the silent way plug in) it seems weird to go to completely non functional. I do appreciate your time and don't mean to dismiss that it could be that, just don't want to give up I guess and given that you faced such a similar problem i still have hope.

The clips are locateable and selectable, but nothing plays (also on new sessions now nothing imported plays...my old sessions all work!).
I think, no I'm certain, that you should create a windows 7 boot disk (google it) and install PT8 on that. PT8 was made for W7! Then you'll have a predictable setup, and I think a good chance to recover the session. "Clean install" as they're called are the clue to have "fragile" apps like PT work good.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playback Engine Issue (Won’t load session with chosen playback engine) MattyJones Pro Tools 11 0 11-02-2015 11:52 AM
Sudden issue with 003 and low latency Linusoli Pro Tools 10 0 08-27-2013 02:48 PM
Crazy Session - Playback Timing Issue Craiger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-12-2010 02:39 PM
Sudden Issue Opening ANY .ptf in 7.4 stackjones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-12-2008 07:15 PM
no playback all of a sudden sojay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-16-2002 09:50 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com