Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:30 PM
TrevorForrest TrevorForrest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jamaica
Posts: 11
Default Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive

I am currently using an M-Audio Firewire Solo. I have connceted an Iomega external Drive to the second firewire port on the Solo. I seem to be getting lackluster performance when mixing and editing session stored on this drive as compared to doing the same thing with sessions store on the system drive of my laptop. The system drive on my laptop is a 5400rpm drive and the external iomega is a 7200rpm drive. Is this supposed to happen ????...i thought i would see better performance with the external drive connected via firewire to the M-Audio Firewire Solo interface.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2006, 02:29 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive

Digidesign recommends using external drives with the Oxford911 firewire bridge chipset. I'm not sure what's in the Iomega, but this might be one of your problems.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2006, 01:07 PM
jp_dt jp_dt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default Re: Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive

I've found connecting a firewire drive to the same bus as an m-audio interface to be lackluster whether you use the recommended drives and chipsets or not. There are other reports on this board that share that experience. My particular interface is the fw410.

SpkGuitar, have you had success with this configuration...m-auido device and f/w drive on same bus?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2006, 03:43 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive

Quote:
SpkGuitar, have you had success with this configuration...m-auido device and f/w drive on same bus?
Yes, I use my Ozonic like that all the time; m6811 Laptop->Hard Drive->Ozonic. No problems.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2006, 03:45 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive

Also, now that we can run LE and MP on the same machine, I've also used my 002r in the same manner; laptop->drive->002r. No problems.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:50 PM
uncoiled uncoiled is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Watsonville, CA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive

Slightly off topic, but is it better to hook the external drive before the interface rather than the other way around? Does it make a difference either way?
__________________
asysttheband.com
uncoiledmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2006, 02:59 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Firewire Solo and Firewire External Drive

Quote:
Slightly off topic, but is it better to hook the external drive before the interface rather than the other way around?
That is the recommended method, yes.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why does Avid recommend external USB over external Firewire for audio drive? DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 10 10 03-29-2012 09:39 PM
What can I put on my external FireWire Drive? mgtube 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-03-2010 03:31 PM
Using external clock with Firewire Solo geishaboy Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 09-03-2005 11:42 PM
How can you use an external firewire drive and Digi002 with only 1 firewire port? CraigD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-16-2003 01:11 AM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-19-2002 11:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com