Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-26-2005, 02:32 AM
n3xus n3xus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 38
Default Pro Tools Effects

Hi all. I am looking for an plugin/effect that would create a "stutter" to be used on a vocal track, or any kind of track for that matter. A good example of what I am looking for can be found on "Star****ers Inc." from the band "Nine Inch Nails" If anyone can help me find that plugin, or let me know how its done or whatever it would be greatly appreciated. I am also looking for a plugin/effect that would digitally distort a signal, make it sound more digital than analog, if you dont understand what I'm talking about thats okay, I'm having a hard time describing what I want. Thank you all for your help.
-n3xus
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2005, 04:09 AM
macr0w macr0w is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 1,449
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

You can allways "slice" up a vocal to give it the "stutter" effect.
__________________
Intel I7 920
Asus P6T
Digi 002R.
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:15 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,195
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

n3,
All that you hear with that song is CUT UP TO ALL HELL. Try this.....

Put your vocal track to a grid, and just start randomly cutting out sections. Put the grid in 32nd notes to start, xoom in and just start deleting random sections. take parts and duplicate them for a few sections, then start cutting again. Then when you are all done, highlight the entire track and do a "Control F" and a cross fade the regions. It is a pretty easy effect and can be cool if done properly. Obviously the benefits of the grid is that you can literally cut a tempo out if desired.

Good luck,

- Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON YOUTUBE

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:32 AM
MaKoRancid MaKoRancid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 293
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

I think the easiest way to create a stutter effect would be to automate mute the track.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:59 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,195
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

Absolutely NOT!
MAn you would hear all kinds of pops doing that. Maybe to get the beat, but I would never do that. Actually, I would automate the volume of a track before I would ever use the MUTE feature. Just sounds bad from everything I have tried.

Sorry man, not with ya on that one.

_ Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON YOUTUBE

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-26-2005, 07:04 AM
Third Eye Studios Third Eye Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Posts: 1,883
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

Acid 5.0 is great for stutter effects. It basically does what Doc says, puts it on a grid an starts chopping out sections. Also, I've had good results by putting a gate on the track I want to stutter, and side-chaining the gate to a click track set to a really fast tempo.

For the distorion effects you asked about, I would try the Digi Lo-Fi plug-in.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2005, 07:17 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

Hire a singer with a stutter. They're also cheaper i find.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2005, 07:45 AM
protein protein is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 219
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

I thought you meant that cool stuttering effect you get from timestretching too much. I time compress and then time stretch speech samples and they sounds all helicoptery and psychadelic. It's a very 1990s uk drum and bass thing.
__________________
http://bobbybloomfield.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2005, 08:09 AM
IntelDoc IntelDoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 4,195
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

That click sidechain thing is cool, but it is all to a click. Good if you want to double a tempo or such. The grid mode, cutup method is probably the easiest way.

The time stretch one is what they did for NEO's voice when he takes the pills at the first meeting with Morpheous. Cool effect, but sometimes sounds akward.

- Doc
__________________
MONUMENT SOUND

MONUMENT SOUND ON YOUTUBE

Monument Sound Facebook

"Changing how people hear music one track at a time"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2005, 08:21 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Pro Tools Effects

I sometimes sidechain to an audio track with a kick sample (or other strong transient) copied into a specific beat. I had posted the process and an example here a long time ago.

DOC's method is down and dirty, quick and easy, but also leaves the edges of the wavs all raw (might be what you're going for in this case, but not always). With the gate/sidechain method, you have more control over how smooth or rough the 'chops' are.



Here's my old post (wow, that was a year ago?)
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Effects on Pro Tools LE Patill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-07-2007 04:51 PM
Using 002 Standalone Effects in Pro Tools WoodnWire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-19-2004 02:53 PM
2 COMPUTERS ONE FOR PRO TOOLS ONE FOR EFFECTS????? Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-21-2004 08:01 AM
External Hardware effects VS plugin RTAS effects boogiewoogie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-19-2003 06:25 PM
Effects, GRM Tools vs outboard....??? AdamF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-29-2001 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com