Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2020, 11:51 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 97
Default Latency over wired network

Hi Eddy, I'm posting this here.....

I'm struggling with the varying degrees of latency with an S3 and Dock.

Feedback when touching a fader / pressing a button is inconsistent and varies between fairly instant to up to 4 seconds delay, averaging probably between 1-2 seconds delay most of the time.

This makes it difficult to accurately write automation.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2020, 09:18 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: Latency over wired network

Try not opening the EuControl Window after it starts (just leave it on the notification bar) See if things improve. If you open it and it slows the systems, restart EuControl.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2020, 12:52 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 97
Default Re: Latency over wired network

No difference to latency.

Generally I wouldn’t be opening the Eucontrol window anyways on a daily basis. It automatically boots up into the notification area and only rarely if I want to change a layout do I bring it up on screen. Also restarting the Eucon apps doesn’t make any difference to the latency.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2020, 07:50 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: Latency over wired network

When this happens, if you quit the Control App does it go away ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2020, 06:45 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,759
Default Re: Latency over wired network

For me, only on small sessions does the latency go away when CA is quit.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•2019 Mac Pro 3.5 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon W - 48 GB 2666 MHz DDR4 (OS 10.15.5) •HD Native PCIe, HD Omni, 192 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •Avid S3 + Dock •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •5.1 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

Additional Systems

•2010 Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon - 48 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native PCIe, 192 I/o, 96 I/o, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x4), McControl (x1), JLCooper Surround panner for D-Command ES, Avid Control •Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI) •7.1.4 Room with JBL LSR4300 series

•2017 MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 - 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 (OS 10.14.6) •HD Native TB, HD Omni, Pro Tools Ultimate •McMix (x1), McControl (x1), Avid Control * or * D-Command ES Main Unit •Fed into whichever system is the main system
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-24-2020, 02:11 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 97
Default Re: Latency over wired network

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
When this happens, if you quit the Control App does it go away ?
If I exit EuControl then touch the surface I get a crash error report
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-24-2020, 09:43 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: Latency over wired network

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmagnetic View Post
If I exit EuControl then touch the surface I get a crash error report
Mac or Win ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2020, 12:51 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 97
Default Re: Latency over wired network

Win
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2020, 09:03 AM
postsoundman postsoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: London
Posts: 1
Default Re: Latency over wired network

In another post they said this was fixed in the next release
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-01-2020, 08:42 AM
bassmagnetic bassmagnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 97
Default Re: Latency over wired network

Hope so cos its unusable atm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any latency in wireless Key Board/Mouse vs Wired? rockguitarist1255 Tips & Tricks 9 04-15-2013 10:23 AM
003 latency and network cards bcwiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-03-2009 05:57 PM
What can be re-Wired JonnyGinese 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-10-2007 12:59 AM
I'm wired spicyitaliano Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-23-2003 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com