Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-02-2005, 08:41 AM

Default Need good guitar tone

I am new to recording and just have a laptop running protools with a Mbox hooked up. I like the way the amplitube sounds, but it sounds kinda processed and doesn't really have the sound of distortion and clean that I want. I have tried to make my own setting but it just doesn't seem like really good quality. So what I want to do is use my amp. I have a Crate halfstack GLX1200H and want to record it. I attempted this once before but it sounded like crap, probably because it was a vocal mic. But it seemed like the mic didn't really pick up the guitar sound. So should I buy a new mic or what do I need to do to make the recording sound like its coming right from my amp? Also, what are those preamps and racks all about. Sorry for the stupid questions but I am new at this and its kinda frustrating because I can play but I sure can't seem to record. Thanks ahead for any help.
Old 04-02-2005, 08:59 AM

Default Re: Need good guitar tone

Amplitube sounds much better in context than it does on its own. I too have had the same problem with my Hiwatt using a variety of mikes from cheap to very expensive. An AKG C1000S has given the best results. Remember that with Amplitube, you might be monotoring with speakers or headphones designed for a broader frequency range than a guitar system, so it might just be a matter of getting used to it. At this point, I rarely mike my amp for I have found that going direct gives better results.
Old 04-02-2005, 09:12 AM

What kind of mic do you have?
Command/8
PTLE 7.1 MPT
www.clearspotrecording.com
Old 04-02-2005, 09:14 AM