Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2019, 03:16 PM
Scott.Brownlee Scott.Brownlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 31
Default "Unable to import some files because quicktime is not installed"

That's the error I'm getting now when trying to import any kind of video file. From my three hours of internet futility, I understand Apple has ceased support for Quicktime for Windows, and that Avid was working on a workaround. Does anyone know if there is a solution to this? As it stands, I cannot add any video files to my Pro Tools sessions, which is a bit of a kick in the teeth when you're doing a film soundtrack...

I have tried a new install of Pro Tools (twice), before and after reinstalling Quicktime. Quicktime Player just says I need to install Apple Application Support, which I also cannot find.

My specs:
Windows 10 64-bit, Intel i7-8700 3.20 GHz, 6 cores, 32 GB RAM, SSD for main Windows drive and Pro Tools, instruments on a combination of internal HDD and external SSD (USB 3.0), Pro Tools sessions stored on internal HDD, running Pro Tools 2018.12.0, with a Scarlett Solo audio interface.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2019, 04:00 PM
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,763
Default Re: "Unable to import some files because quicktime is not installed"

For Audio, here’s a great way to install the QuickTime you need for Pro Tools on Windows, without the stuff that’s flagged as “bad”:

https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/


Don't know whether the "Quicktime Web Plug-In" is required for Video (I don't use Video) - see the above link for details
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.3 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32

Last edited by unkJE; 12-07-2019 at 04:11 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2019, 04:08 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,214
Default Re: "Unable to import some files because quicktime is not installed"

Apple Application Support is installed with iTunes. You can selectively uninstall any parts of iTunes and the Apple stuff you don't want after the install.

The most recent QT for Windows is here: https://support.apple.com/kb/DL837?v...S&locale=en_US and may have the App Support included.
__________________
PT 2020.3 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 2004)
PT 2020.3 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2019, 07:16 AM
Scott.Brownlee Scott.Brownlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: "Unable to import some files because quicktime is not installed"

Thanks, but I've tried that particular QuickTime installer five times now to no avail. Even when I custom install to just have the QuickTime Essentials, I get the same Pro Tools error when trying to import any video file. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2019, 08:09 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,214
Default Re: "Unable to import some files because quicktime is not installed"

If it's still asking you to install Apple Application Support, install iTunes for Windows. That installs both the 32 and 64 bit Apple App Support. You can check to see what's already installed in the Programs and Features Control Panel.
__________________
PT 2020.3 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 2004)
PT 2020.3 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2019, 08:17 AM
Scott.Brownlee Scott.Brownlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: "Unable to import some files because quicktime is not installed"

Unfortunately, I can't even get that far anymore as I can no longer find any executable QuickTime program to test. That's where I got the "Apple Application Support" error before. I'm trying a full system wipe and reinstall first, and if I'm still getting the QuickTime error in Pro Tools, I'll try installing iTunes and let you know.

Wish me luck...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2019, 12:49 PM
Scott.Brownlee Scott.Brownlee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 31
Default Re: "Unable to import some files because quicktime is not installed"

Well hallelujah, that worked. All I had to do was wipe my entire system clean and start over again. Three days later after reinstalling all my Stuff, I can now import DNxHD videos into Pro Tools.

No problem whatsoever.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MP3 file "cannot be imported because quicktime is not installed" librabby Windows 2 09-17-2014 10:20 PM
Unable to import some files because QuickTime is not installed? Mitchdeathshadow Windows 1 08-14-2013 09:29 AM
Can't import video "Avid engine not installed"??? garnoil Post - Surround - Video 9 10-08-2012 04:45 PM
MP3 file "cannot be imported because quicktime is not installed" JayKan Pro Tools 9 1 07-20-2012 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com