Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2014, 08:32 PM
Ian Bodzasi Ian Bodzasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 111
Default Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

AVID NEEDS TO GET ON THIS.

Protools has been occasionally deleting consolidated files directly from disk. This has been happening since v8, and today I witnessed it in v10.3.7.

There are many other users with the same issue.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=283035
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=333490
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=317257
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=286912
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=280587
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=282424
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=277213
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=288803
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=305667
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=310689

It's not a hard drive problem, it's not lack of backing up. It's files disappearing the drive altogether while sessions are still open.

In 2010, I received this email from Avid (yes, I noticed the bad spelling too):

"I know what we are ware o the issue and hoping to resolve it in a future release I do not have any specific information about whether or not it will be a dot or CS release or a resale date. Tanks for your patience with this issue."

I've spoken in person to upper level people from Avid (I wish I could remember their name), who acknowledged that they were aware of the issue too.

Avid, this has been going on for 4 years. Data loss is the worst possible bug there could be. This needs to be addressed immediately.

Many people though that a handful of us were crazy or careless when v7 was corrupting regions, but with enough noise from enough people we were finally listened to.

(Fixes Included from Pro Tools HD 7.3.1cs3:
Fixed: Random Disappearance or Corruption of Regions On Tracks When Editing Or Punching In (Item #85976)

  • Although this could occur while editing or recording over regions, the problem was most evident when QuickPunching over existing regions.)
__________________
www.bodzasi.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-26-2014, 11:10 PM
Ian Bodzasi Ian Bodzasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 111
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Bueller? Bueller?
__________________
www.bodzasi.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-27-2014, 06:18 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,812
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Bodzasi View Post
Bueller? Bueller?
Is there some response you want from us, the users?" This is the "USER" forum and not the Avid bug reporting system. I agree that Avid needs to fix this but perhaps the right way to contact them is via the bug reporting system instead of here. Just saying.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.4 running Protools 2020.3.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-27-2014, 07:49 PM
Ian Bodzasi Ian Bodzasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 111
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Well, I submitted a bug report 4 years ago so that didn't do much good. There was a time Avid representatives would be on here regularly and could assist. Now you can't even email them without paying for support. If someone can send a link to a bug reporting system I'd be happy to submit it again. Aside from that I'm hoping other users with the same issue can chime in with their 2 cents.
__________________
www.bodzasi.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-27-2014, 11:40 PM
nainesh nainesh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 196
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Just stumbled upon this thread. I have the same issue with disappearing regions. I thought I was going mad and have been scratching my head, wondering what I did wrong. Now at least I know it's not me.
__________________
Home: Pro Tools 2018.12, Mac Pro 5.1, 3.33 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, macOS 10.12.6, 32GB RAM, Crucial SSD MX200, Audient ID22

Studio: Pro Tools 8 HD2, Lynx Aurora, Power PC

http://www.snorkelstudios.co.uk

http://www.flotationtoywarning.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2014, 08:29 AM
Ian Bodzasi Ian Bodzasi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 111
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Add more from this thread...

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=308277
__________________
www.bodzasi.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2014, 09:43 AM
rantanplan rantanplan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berlin
Posts: 155
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Maybe give 10.3.9 a try?

"Fixed an issue that could cause TrackPunch to remove clips from the Timeline. (PTSW-186681)" - maybe this is related to removing clips from harddisk, too...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2014, 11:11 AM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

The company is trying not to go under. Fixing bugs is probably not their first priority….
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2014, 11:13 AM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 689
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Is there some response you want from us, the users?" This is the "USER" forum and not the Avid bug reporting system. I agree that Avid needs to fix this but perhaps the right way to contact them is via the bug reporting system instead of here. Just saying.
Then.. what is this forum for? Maybe we can talk about what we will eat this evening? Or better which is our favourite bottle of wine?
Please Obsidian....
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.3 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-28-2014, 02:36 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,658
Default Re: Protools STILL Deleting Files. Confirmed in PT10. Acknowledged by Avid.

Data loss is a serious issue and we have taken action when this has been reported and were able to reproduce in house. Having a repro case is really important and helped solve the issue like PTSW-135635 in Pro Tools 9 where the Undo queue was incorrectly including certain commands and specific steps related to Consolidate resulted in Error -35 (fixed in PT 9.0.5).

Do you have any specific steps that lead to this problem? Knowing your workflow could help us identify the cause.

Thanks,
JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 9.05 still deleting & corrupting files. Are you SERIOUS Avid??? fman macOS 16 03-11-2012 04:05 PM
ProTools 8 Confirmed Plugin Compatability Problems Matt Darcy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-10-2009 05:41 AM
Avid and Protools files? JT916 Post - Surround - Video 2 06-08-2008 09:01 PM
Deleting files to make protools work better willl3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-18-2008 07:02 PM
ProTools HD on X (confirmed) jimmycrack Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-01-2002 07:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com