Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2011, 08:59 PM
daveseviltwin daveseviltwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Default Word Clock Issues "the HW device is at a different sample rate from the open session"

I'm having a serious issue with the internal word clock on my Mbox (3rd gen). I've been trying to diagnose this issue unsuccessfully for 3 weeks. I'll do my best to explain. Sometimes when I open up a session everything will work fine. Then other times I notice that I get the "the HW device is at a different sample rate from the open session" prompt. That's when I know it's going to be a long day. I'm using the internal word clock and it does not change sample rates. My session will stay locked in 44.1 when I'm actually setup to be in 48.

When I open up setup-hardware, nothing happens. In other words, it's a dead command. When I open up the system pref-avid mbox, it will let me change the sample rate from 44.1 to 48 but nothing happens except in Itunes. It does not affect the sample rate of the session at all. Again, I have to stress that some days it will just work fine and then other days it doesn't. I've cleaned all the prefs, reinstalled PT 8 and checked with different hard drives. I hope someone can give me some kind of help with this. I'm in LA and I don't have any of my paperwork with me to get avid help. I don't think I even registered this unit when I bought it because it was rarely ever used. Thanks in advance, David

Macbook-2.1g-120gb hard drive
OSX 10.5.8
PT 8.0.5
External-OWC Neptune 500gb
Avid Mbox 3rd Gen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2011, 07:30 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,162
Default Re: Word Clock Issues "the HW device is at a different sample rate from the open sess

I seem to recall that a batch of 3rd gen Mboxes have this problem, so I would go to the dealer that sold you the unit and see if you can get a replacement, or at least a warranty repair.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2011, 01:18 PM
daveseviltwin daveseviltwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Word Clock Issues "the HW device is at a different sample rate from the open sess

I guess it of luck for 2 months then because I don't have any of the original boxes or anything with me in LA. That really doesn't make me day. Is is a word clock failure?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2011, 06:09 PM
daveseviltwin daveseviltwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Default Re: Word Clock Issues "the HW device is at a different sample rate from the open sess

I meant out of luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Problem detected with audio clock. Check audio clock and sample rate." Focusrite 2i4 Terry Wetzel Third Party Interfaces 10 11-08-2013 06:18 AM
Can't Open Session- "because Pro Tools could not set Sample rate to specified value Chopper macOS 4 06-27-2013 01:57 PM
Mytek + The HW device is at a different sample rate from the open session glynnp macOS 2 10-20-2011 03:53 PM
HW device is at a different sample rate from the open session bad jitter Pro Tools 9 2 08-16-2011 11:36 AM
Audio clock problems.."Check clock source and sample rate.." Please help! beasleymusic Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-03-2011 10:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com