Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2009, 09:38 PM
volkgti90 volkgti90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 39
Default Macbook not always recognizing mbox2pro?

i have a macbook with the mbox2 pro. Im running version 8.0.1 w/ snow leopard and for the most part it works great. The one thing i do notice sometimes is when i turn on my external drive (daisy chained to the mbox) my computer recognizes the external but sometimes does not recognize the mbox2.. The light just keeps blinking... Usually if i unmount the external and turn it off (sometimes several times) if finally recognizes it and works (light stays lite).. Im using a g-drive mini (has on and off switch on back, bus powered)that has dual 800 firewire ports.. I run from the computer to the external, then to the mbox.. This issue is more of an annoyance id say.. About 1/3 of the time it recognizes it immediately the first time i turn on my external, the rest of the time im having to unmount, turn off and try again.

One thing i have noticed is when i bypass the external and run straight from the computer to the mbox it has recognized it every time so far... anyways, any help would be appreciated.. Im hoping to get it to recognize when running the daisy chain everytime.. Also im not using the provided power supply with my mbox 2 pro.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2009, 10:05 AM
barlevy barlevy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 132
Default Re: Macbook not always recognizing mbox2pro?

MBOX 2 PRO doesn't support FW800

change it to FW400 and i believe everything will work well
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2009, 06:52 PM
volkgti90 volkgti90 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 39
Default Re: Macbook not always recognizing mbox2pro?

the cable that runs from the external to the mbox is a 800 to 400, so it plugs in fine.. My external has two 800 inputs and my computer has one 400. So i run a 400 to 800 into the external, then with the other port i run an 800 (from external) to the 400 on the mbox2pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox2Pro compatibility? MacBook Pro? glankrudolph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-09-2009 08:42 AM
setup macbook pro-> ext harddrive-> mbox2pro simsalabim Storage Subsystems 1 12-12-2008 02:08 PM
Plug-ins, MacBook and Mbox2PRO Hemluth General Discussion 2 05-31-2008 04:16 AM
mbox2pro on macbook-hard drive? dxcease 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-20-2007 06:53 AM
Mbox2Pro/MacBook latency question rainsong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-26-2006 06:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com