Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2007, 03:14 PM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default quick (stupid?) question

here's an easy one (maybe?)

during playback, if I want to skip to a different section...
Is it necessary/advisable to stop playback before clicking the desired memory location?
or is it ok to "jump around" DURING playback?
I certainly do this in iTunes without ever thinking about it....but PT? I don't know

thanks in advance
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2007, 05:09 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: quick (stupid?) question

I've done it and no harm comes of it, but I generally stop the transport first just because the audio sounds better with a little pause. It gives reverb, echo and anything sustaining a chance to fade out.

It's not really the same thing as with iTunes where you're just skipping around a file. You have VIs and plugins using the CPU.
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2007, 08:18 PM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: quick (stupid?) question

thanks

the reason I ask...
I have a "DIY mastering" session template with various imported commercially released tunes. I use these files to compare with my mixes.(The session only has 2 tracks of audio, no VI's, but a few "mastering" plugs - low CPU usage) Sometimes I like to A/B with no silence in between... but I certainly don't want to damage anything.

any other opinions
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2007, 04:47 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: quick (stupid?) question

Jump. You won't hurt anything.

As you know, the heads inside a hard drive are jumping around all the time anyway.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2007, 07:31 PM
wolfskin wolfskin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 447
Default Re: quick (stupid?) question

Yep, jump around... That's one of my favorite features of the new dynamic transport...
__________________
Windows XP Pro SP3 & Vista Ultimate SP1 / 002R v8.0 w/ MPT2
AMD X2 4800+ Dual Core / 1000 FSB / 4 GB RAM
www.wolfskinrecords.com
www.voodoopilot.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2007, 08:02 PM
jlcnyc jlcnyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: hell's kitchen
Posts: 687
Default Re: quick (stupid?) question

thanks for the green light!
__________________
www.jeffreyleecampbell.com
Mac Pro 2.8 GHz Quad
16GB RAM
Apogee Rosetta 200/ UA LA-610
Genelec 8030A/7050b
McDSP, Waves, Sony, URS, Spectrasonics, BFD, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid question, but need answer quick. HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-10-2010 07:13 AM
Quick stupid connection question Digi002-Rosetta 800-96kHz-S/MUX Hugen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-19-2009 07:31 PM
quick stupid question...how do you change colors?? ejsongs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-14-2005 07:45 AM
Quick Easy (stupid) ?uestion Mean Green 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-04-2004 11:05 AM
Quick quick quick DSP farm card Question Mr335 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-06-2002 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com