Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2005, 08:10 AM
studiomusic studiomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Utah, sometimes France
Posts: 424
Default PCI Express to PCI card...

I found this on the net this morning... could be a solution if you want to keep your PCI stuff on a new Mac.
Texas Instruments is making (or is going to make)an adapter (bridge) that transforms PCI express to PCI. Now we just need it to be Digi certified...

Texas Instruments PCI adapter.
[image]http://www.macbidouille.com/news/photonews23/pciexpresspci.jpg[/image]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2005, 08:18 AM
1150Post 1150Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 431
Default Re: PCI Express to PCI card...

Quote:
I found this on the net this morning... could be a solution if you want to keep your PCI stuff on a new Mac.
Texas Instruments is making (or is going to make)an adapter (bridge) that transforms PCI express to PCI. Now we just need it to be Digi certified...

Texas Instruments PCI adapter.
[image]http://www.macbidouille.com/news/photonews23/pciexpresspci.jpg[/image]
If I'm not incorrect, I believe it is something that manufacturers can add to their existing PCI card designs to make them PCIe compliant... it's not a device that lets you plug PCI cards into PCIe slots.

Note that purchasing is available in lots of 1000. Definately directed towards hardware developers. Perhaps it's the path Digi took to adapt their HD hardware to PCIe.

FWIW.

Brad McIlvaine
Sr. Mixer/Designer
Henninger Media Services
Washington, DC 20036
__________________
Brad McIlvaine
Sr. Mixer/Designer
Henninger Media Services
Washington, DC 20036
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2005, 04:36 PM
studiomusic studiomusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Utah, sometimes France
Posts: 424
Default Re: PCI Express to PCI card...

This picture makes me think that there is a PCIe card to PCI adapter in there somewhere.
It looks like 3 PCI slots for 1 PCIe slot.
http://www.macbidouille.com/news/pho...expresspci.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI-Express to PCI Adapter Card RuffinMedia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-27-2010 05:58 PM
Magma CB2, HD PCI, Express Card Snitz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-29-2009 07:51 AM
express card boove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-07-2008 11:17 AM
Is FW(400) express card a solution? June Moris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-27-2008 04:11 PM
MAGMA Express card to PCI? digiot Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 01-25-2007 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com