Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:02 PM
reflexson reflexson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 35
Thumbs down Let me get this straight

OK Im starting to get very upset..

I have a hd 2 system on a pre nehalem mac pro using lynx auroras.

Seems that I am in the worst case scenario for this upgrade to hdx.

1.My computer wont work.
2.My interfaces wont work.
3.My old cards appear to be almost worthless in an upgrade path.

Did I miss something? WTF.

I dont even want to run the numbers on how much it would cost to get just 1 hdx card and the io i have with 2 lynx aurora 16s. Oh yeah, and a new computer.

I am speechless. Literally SPEECHLESS.
__________________
Paul Cox
www.226recordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:28 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Let me get this straight

1) you compter should work, see my thread a bought first gen 1.1s http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=309437
2) your interfaces have the same support that have now, if they don't work don't call Avid
3) well...., if theres not a lot of action on HDx cards Avid will probably sweeten the pot
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:30 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Let me get this straight

Paul,

I am much in the same situation as you are. Where did you see the specs that said your computer wouldn't work? My computer is also pre Nahelem and I haven't found anything that says mine isn't compatible. (I hope it isn't)

Regarding the interface, I also have a Lynx Aurora 16 for my interface. I am assuming that Lynx will have to eventually release a new card for the unit that we will need to purchase. Hopefully that will be hundreds of dollars rather than $1,000's to upgrade.

Regarding the cards upgrade, it sounds like we will just have to see what the upgrade paths are from Avid. Have you seen any quotes yet? The good thing is that we should get a boost in performance moving from an HD2 system to a single HDX card.

Anyways, I definitely feel that in between all my TDM plug-ins and HD2 system that everything has dropped in value by well over $5,000 tonight. Plus with the addition of expensive upgrade options, I definitely feel your pain.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:37 PM
reflexson reflexson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houston Tx
Posts: 35
Default Re: Let me get this straight

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
1) you compter should work, see my thread a bought first gen 1.1s http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=309437
2) your interfaces have the same support that have now, if they don't work don't call Avid
3) well...., if theres not a lot of action on HDx cards Avid will probably sweeten the pot


From the thread you linked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut View Post
Works fine here with NativeHD, 002/C, Built-in and other hardware on our MacPro 1,1

HDX requires a Nehalem or better.

Rail

You cant even get the cards by themselves. Will they even allow Lynx to make something like the xhd card for the new HDX?(ha just realized how nerdy that looks)

This seems like a much worse upgrade path than when we went from mix to hd
__________________
Paul Cox
www.226recordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone set me straight on AAX? gtomassetti macOS 5 10-24-2011 09:50 AM
Let's get this straight.... YoRugMan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 02-15-2010 11:37 AM
Let me get this straight.. voce Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 51 07-29-2005 11:03 AM
So let me get this straight!! irwinmfletcher Post - Surround - Video 12 02-16-2005 04:22 AM
So let me get this straight... Bookerv12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 01-23-2002 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com