Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-25-2008, 02:33 PM

Default Appropriate Levels for Broadcast TV

Hi all,

I'm curious to know the broadcast standard that most engineers adhere to when mixing for TV.

I'm a younger engineer based at a Chicago ad agency, and I've always been told during my days as an assistant that when mixing for broadcast TV, your levels should not exceed -10dBFS and dialog should be mixed to an average of 0db on your VU meters. Lately I've received mixes and splits from studios on the west coast that peak at about -7dBFS with dialog mixed to about +1-2 on the VU's (many SFX had my meters maxed at a constant +3).

In this particular session I had to record a new AVO, remix, and ship out the new version almost immediately. I choose to knock the levels down to what I usually do (-10dBFS), although previous versions had shipped with mixes that were, obviously, somewhat more hot. For engineers that have been in the industry for quite some time - do you come across this a lot? Was I right to drop the level or should I have mixed to the same level as previous versions?

Thanks in advance for an insight and guidance - it's much appreciated.
Old 03-25-2008, 03:03 PM

Default Re: Appropriate Levels for Broadcast TV

Quote:
Hi all,

I'm curious to know the broadcast standard that most engineers adhere to when mixing for TV.