Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2005, 08:42 AM
nickster nickster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 34
Default 96khz on PT LE 6.7

I am about to start work on an instrumental project and am thinking of using 96khz for the first time. I am using PT LE 6.7 (24bit).

Each song will be no more than about 10 tracks - all keyboard stuff and loops.

Can anyone let me know any pitfalls I might be up against using 96khz (I have a large OWC firewire hard drive 200 GB - so that should not be a problem).

I have the Focusrite Octopre preamp. BUT I do not think I can use this at 96khz as there seems to be no way to imput it into the 002???

Am I better off sticking with 48khz and use the Octopre OR go to 96khz and use the built in 002 preamps???

Any comments would be helpful...!

Many Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2005, 09:12 AM
SUPA FROST SUPA FROST is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Default Re: 96khz on PT LE 6.7

My suggestion is to stick to 48/24. Just make sure that you record all intsruments as loud as posssilble without clipping to take full advantage of the 24 bits and you will achieve excellent results. Most equiptment is still not 96/24 compatible especially keyboards. Plus, 96/24 is more convenient for video applications. Good Luck!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2005, 09:21 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: 96khz on PT LE 6.7

That's not quite correct about recording as hot as possible to take advantage of 24 bits. The nice thing about 24 bits is that it exceeds the dynamic range of anything you're likely to record, so you don't have to obsess about recording so hot.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2005, 02:25 AM
nitro-g nitro-g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 17
Default Re: 96khz on PT LE 6.7

I'm looking to do something similar to this with a Digi 002R.
But do any of the expensive 96KHz options (the Focusrite Octopre or the RME Octamic-D for example) let you do full 96KHz sessions???
I've seen other things that suggest that the ADAT optical link will only work to 48KHz on a 002R?
Is this true?
Or can you add 8 extra analog inputs & work fully at 96KHz on a 002R using a Focusrite Octopre or RME Octamic-D & ADAT optical link? Is somebody actually doing this in their own studio?
Or would I only be able to work at 48KHz?

Many thanks for your help - would be most interesed to find out!
__________________
S.T.W.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2005, 03:20 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,210
Default Re: 96khz on PT LE 6.7

Quote:
I've seen other things that suggest that the ADAT optical link will only work to 48KHz on a 002R? Is this true?
Yes. ADAT is 48kHz max. There is a workaround called SMUX that is used by some companies, but unsupported by Digidesign. So no HD audio through Digidesign-manufactured ADAT ports.

You can however record and playback 10 channels of 24bit/96kHz audio via the builtin analog i/o and the SPDIF interface. The only thing that is disabled in 88.2/96kHz sessions is the ADAT i/o. You can use everything else just the same way than before.

So, in other words, you can benefit from your Octopre by plugging its output into the line inputs of 002. The quality of Focusrite preamps is on a different scale than the built-in Digi preamps (which are not bad either).

If you're only having few tracks, you might just as well try 96k. But know that it costs double the disk space and double the cpu power to record/playback/process, so prepare to get your system performance (more than) halved.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
96khz jglunt2112 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 04-01-2015 04:27 PM
96kHz???????? KamilFX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-04-2007 07:43 PM
24/96khz with mix and 888/24 i/o taiazeez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-28-2006 05:16 AM
96khz Is it necessary? Sharritan Tips & Tricks 10 10-03-2004 02:10 AM
From 96Khz to CD Compression Records Tips & Tricks 1 09-07-2000 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com