Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2002, 08:09 AM
Vyper_Mk_II Vyper_Mk_II is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Tascam Digital / ADAT Digital Conversion

I have a stack of Tascam tapes from University that I want to get into Pro Tools. I'm going to hire in the kit to do the job.

A DA-88 or equivalent is obviously required to play the tapes back, but I was wondering what pieces of kit can convert from Tascam Digital to ADAT digital. so I can get the signal into my Digi001.

Also, as most of the tapes are from sets of 3 (24 track), how do I go about sync-ing Pro-Tools up to the time code?

Any info would be appreciated,

Cheers,

Vyper.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2002, 08:49 AM
RolandK RolandK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 245
Default Re: Tascam Digital / ADAT Digital Conversion

I know you can digitally copy 24 tracks at once from DA-88 to DP3 because my band just did it at the studio we were at. Maybe its possible to import DP3 into PT TDM or HD and then into PTLE. I also copied a different 16 track project from DA-88 to PTLE using analog out to analog in and it worked fine. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-22-2002, 11:16 PM
tptman tptman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 191
Default Re: Tascam Digital / ADAT Digital Conversion

You can do a search on DA88 and find plenty of answers to how to sync it. It's pretty straightforward. As far as a TDIF to ADAT converter, I use an RME ADI8-PRO, and it sounds great (8 at a time though). Good luck.

Peter
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2002, 02:54 AM
RUNRUN RUNRUN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 283
Default Re: Tascam Digital / ADAT Digital Conversion

Check with some of your local studios' they may already be equipped to do the transfer and may do it cheaply.
I had a similar situation with a band who had recorded on ADAT and I needed to transfer to DA-88 I know this isn't quite the same).
Found someone who did it very cheaply since they could do the transfer without disrupting their schedule.
Might work out better if it's someone who understands the transfer.
I suggest this only if you need the time to loc up accurately.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Digital Out to Tascam CD900SL lovemypt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-14-2010 10:26 AM
Conversion from Optical Digital to RCA Digital in LE 6.4??? Geddyleewannabe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-04-2007 08:27 PM
digi 192 digital & tascam DM-24: anyone? Enrico Donner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-03-2004 04:15 AM
Analog Digital Conversion Polyph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-28-2003 10:02 PM
Digital Conversion: 16 bit to 24 bit bugsy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-24-2000 07:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com