Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2019, 10:12 AM
buckman buckman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default New to PT, use as Final Delivery still standard?

Hello, new to the Forum, and new to Pro tools..

I think I need Pro Tools for final delivery as I am doing more and more TV, and Ad work (music scoring) and PT is still a must, even though I use a bit of Ableton (Sound Design), Logic, FL Studio, and Reaper which is close, but obviously isn't PT when it comes to delivering sessions.

This maybe a stupid question but does anyone else 'compile' audio from various DAW's, like an old school 24-track tape machine, (so you can pick a bit of each and their strengths) and compile them all into a Pro tools session at separate times?

It may sound daft, but I don't really see anyone else doing this, as it mostly seems to be just Logic etc. Maybe I'm wrong?

But I would like to 'compile' in Protools as final delivery, but use it as a big Tape Recorder (with no sync to any other DAW but same tempo audio) so that i can play a few sounds or tracks/loops from Ableton, (record into PT), then load Logic, with its Instruments, and fx, (record into PT), maybe even play some piano live on a Pro tools track/take? and so on... maybe people are doing this?... or not, as there's flaws to it?

So then this way everything at the end is in one place and in Audio in PT, and you can edit, manipulate audio, and sync it perfectly to a video/film, for sound design and/or composition. My 'brain' seems to work quicker when working on one thing at a time, and moving on, and mixing separately at the end, instead of doing it all at once.

This is why i am looking at Pro tools Standard as a 'tape recorder' to do this with? Also can i ask if PT still needs an iLok these days?

Hope this post makes sense, or am I way off the mark? - sorry am new :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2019, 03:03 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 719
Default Re: New to PT, use as Final Delivery still standard?

Yes PT uses iLok, regarding the rest well lots of folks use multiple DAW’s that they feel do certain things better or a prefered way. Doing the way I think you are asking I think you would need DAW’s running on seperate puters with seperate DAW’s, audio interfaces....etc...etc. if you are wanting everything to work at the same time and interact with each other. ie you can’t run multiple daws on one putter at a time something is bound to fart. Then you would just need to patch everything together... and prolly hope for no hum in the sys.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2019, 03:08 PM
buckman buckman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: New to PT, use as Final Delivery still standard?

Thanks but I probably should have explained that I’d use one daw at a time and compile sounds and fx all in pro tools as a multi track, switching between each daw.

Then at the end just concentrate on protocols to arrange and mix all of my compiled samples and audio? 😊
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2019, 03:14 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 719
Default Re: New to PT, use as Final Delivery still standard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckman View Post
Thanks but I probably should have explained that I’d use one daw at a time and compile sounds and fx all in pro tools as a multi track, switching between each daw.

Then at the end just concentrate on protocols to arrange and mix all of my compiled samples and audio? 😊
Yup sure, just got to bounce down whatever you have done to a compatible file format that PT can import and that is pretty straight forward.

I have PT and Cubase installed on the same machine just can’t run at the same time.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.#, Cubase 9.5, Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laying Final Mix to Final Vision Without Re Encoding??? Miker84 Post - Surround - Video 8 10-31-2015 06:36 AM
M&E delivery ? Mark 66 Post - Surround - Video 7 05-11-2007 09:39 AM
Where is my delivery? Pirate Post Aspera DigiDelivery 3 10-04-2006 11:16 AM
M & E Delivery SurroundNewbie Post - Surround - Video 1 04-17-2004 03:16 PM
What is the best db for delivery? RobMacki Post - Surround - Video 10 07-24-2002 03:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com