Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2018, 10:06 PM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 206
Default HW Buffer Size at Different Sample Rates

I usually don't record above 48K but today I was doing a track count test recording a 1k signal to 100 tracks with a DSP reverb send and 2 DSP plugins per track at 96K. I had the HW buffer size at 64 (the lowest I can go) for my standard 48K template session before loading a 96K template sessions and adding my tracks and auxes. I just happen to check my playback engine and saw the lowest HW buffer size I could use is 128 at 96K. I decided to change my sample rate to 192K and saw the lowest HW buffer setting was 256. Is this normal when doubling the sample rate and for you Mac guys at 48K, can you get your HW down to 32? Also with this number doubling at higher sample rate is this changing the latency as well or is the latency staying the same and the number changed due to the higher sample rate?
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteX79-UP4 Rev 1.1
Xeon E5 2680 v.2. 10 Core cpu Windows10 v.1803
Avid HDX 2019.6 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2018, 12:03 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,992
Default Re: HW Buffer Size at Different Sample Rates

Latency and sample rate are related. Doubling the sample rate means the same amount of buffers go by in 1/2 the time. So doubling the buffers restores the same amount of time.

Remember
buffers is equivalent to a measure of samples.
samples / sample rate = latency

You haven't mentioned what your audio card is but all audio interfaces will have a minimum time needed to process incoming audio and that will set your minimum buffer. Since you started with the minimum at a base sample rate, it will have to go up in proportion as you double or quad the base sample rate.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2018, 10:04 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 206
Default Re: HW Buffer Size at Different Sample Rates

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Latency and sample rate are related. Doubling the sample rate means the same amount of buffers go by in 1/2 the time. So doubling the buffers restores the same amount of time.

Remember
buffers is equivalent to a measure of samples.
samples / sample rate = latency

You haven't mentioned what your audio card is but all audio interfaces will have a minimum time needed to process incoming audio and that will set your minimum buffer. Since you started with the minimum at a base sample rate, it will have to go up in proportion as you double or quad the base sample rate.
HDX card and HD I/O.
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteX79-UP4 Rev 1.1
Xeon E5 2680 v.2. 10 Core cpu Windows10 v.1803
Avid HDX 2019.6 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2018, 01:16 PM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 265
Default Re: HW Buffer Size at Different Sample Rates

Well, in my case the lowest latency I obtain with my system is at 96khz. Actually at 192 I have more latency than at 96 with the same buffer size. Maybe it depends on the interface you use....don't know. But normally, at let's say 64 sample buffer size / 48 khz corresponds to 128 / 96 and 256 / 192.

Also at higher frequency rates the quantisation noise gets higher because the anti-aliasing filter is set to a higher frequency. But that's another story...
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buffer size, sample rate and more... ezolhof Pro Tools 12 9 03-29-2016 02:39 PM
32 sample buffer size w/ pt 9 & 002 vinchenzOH Windows 8 12-16-2010 10:30 AM
PTHD Buffer sizes and sample rates Edgur Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-05-2010 06:14 PM
32 sample buffer size? CamM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 08-30-2009 08:16 AM
Is everyone able to run at 128 sample buffer size? lwilliam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 05-04-2001 06:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com