Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-03-2018, 06:49 PM
abt abt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 207
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

My latest work around is to use an Auto Hot Key script that kills the Pro Tools process. I have it pinned to the taskbar, every time I get the error I run the script and the process is killed.

Here's the AHK script:

Process, Close, ProTools.exe
return
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-04-2018, 08:51 AM
philgrab philgrab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Posts: 128
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

I'm sorry......Windows 7? Like 11 year old Windows 7?

Update the OS and save us all the need to try and help someone running a modern version of Protools on an almost antiquated OS. Seriously.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-04-2018, 12:46 PM
Seattle Guy Seattle Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 68
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

I’m having the same problems on Windows 10.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-17-2018, 04:05 PM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 602
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

Never seen this problem with leaving the system usage meter open. PT always shuts down properly. Yes, philgrab, I am on WIN 7 also with a system that has always been error free and stable.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.0b7 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-05-2018, 08:05 AM
cplaza cplaza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 18
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

Running on Win 10 and PT 2018-10 and PT hangs during its shutdown process. Clicking on the X in the window brings up the window asking if I want to wait for a response or close the program. Clicking on close shuts down PT with the option to send data to Microsoft. Does anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-05-2018, 08:37 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,244
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

Shutdown hangs with a session open or no session open?

With an open session it is very likely caused by a plugin. trash prefs and do usual plugin file removal tests.

If it happens with only one session, then likely a corrupt session.

Even without an open session it may still be a plugin, so do all the standard stuff there anyhow.... trash prefs and remove all plugin files and see if the problem still happens with just standard Pro Tools plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-05-2018, 12:48 PM
abt abt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 207
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

@cplaza This was fixed for me during the last update. I know that probably doesn't help you because you're already on the latest version.

For me it definitely was not a plugin or corrupt session. I tried all that, trashed prefs etc, it didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-06-2018, 02:55 AM
mandal mandal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Mandal
Posts: 216
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

Sorry - but I just had to comment...

...people always complain....pro tools won't open....pro tools won't shutdown....hahahahaha
__________________
Win10 Home (64-bit), Native OMNI PCIe, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, i7 processor, 16GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 EVO (system disk), Siemens SSD840 PRO (session disk), Dell 43" 4K LED P4317Q
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-06-2018, 05:05 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,428
Default Re: Pro Tools won't shutdown

Haven't run Windows in a while but I remember when I did sometimes Sonar would hang when quitting. I'd look in the lower right of the taskbar and see that it was waiting for a MIDI event that it never got. I wonder if this might be what's happening here?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools freezes on shutdown or when importing files Old School Audio Guy Windows 1 12-29-2012 10:54 PM
when i launnch pro tools my computer says it needs to shutdown melchiorre 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-02-2011 01:22 PM
I shutdown pro tools 9 le I get this access violation! shamanrock Pro Tools 9 1 11-13-2010 09:21 PM
spontaneous shutdown pro tools 8 parlour snake 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-13-2010 06:33 PM
shutdown error with pro tools on xp chairmanblow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-02-2007 07:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com