Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:10 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default DJs/Turntablists - Recording/Monitoring Question

I have my mixer going into the alternate inputs 7 & 8. I have the "Alt Source to 7 & 8" button selected. I need to record the output of the turntable AND be able to hear other tracks play while doing this.

Everything works fine if I route the turntables to 2 mono tracks with input from from 7 & 8. But when I try to use a stereo track(with input from 7 & 8), the other tracks won't play while I'm recording.

And I can't monitor the turntable/mixer output while Pro Tools plays. I record-arm the stereo track in an attempt to practice along with the other tracks but I don't get any sound.

Short version... while attempting to record the turntable output, the other tracks don't play. When playing the other tracks, I can't hear the turntables. What is preventing me from using a stereo track in this fashion?

My goal is to practice, then record some cuts & scratches onto a song. And I want the recorded track in stereo. Please help.
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:25 AM
Ken P Ken P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The States!
Posts: 544
Default Re: DJs/Turntablists - Recording/Monitoring Question

try the opt-k shortcut which switches the audio input monitor. this is what i do, if i understand your situation correctly this should be the ticket!
__________________
Ken P.

Pro Tools HD on PC
Pro Tools LE on Mac G5 and MacBook Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:33 AM
Bezo Bezo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: DC
Posts: 741
Default Re: DJs/Turntablists - Recording/Monitoring Question

Quote:
try the opt-k shortcut which switches the audio input monitor. this is what i do, if i understand your situation correctly this should be the ticket!
Thanks for the quick response.

Can you give me some more detail on that? Is that something I should try once I open the session? Do I need to have the track selected before I Opt-K? Is "switching the audio input monitor" discussed in the manual? If so, can you tell me what chapter or topic?

Pardon the additional questions, but I'm at work and won't be able to try this until much later this evening.
__________________
PTLE 8.0.5, Digi 002 Rack
iMac 3.06Hz Intel Core 2 Duo w/8GB RAM, OS 10.6.8
Glyph GT050Q Drives
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:16 PM
Ken P Ken P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: The States!
Posts: 544
Default Re: DJs/Turntablists - Recording/Monitoring Question

no prob!

this is an over-all setting you can alternate between. it just alows you to toggle play thru a record enabled track while you are playing back audio/play the audio on the record enabled track while you are playing back. not sure where it is in the manual, but if you go to operations-->audio input monitor / input only monitor, this is the long way to the shortcut i mentioned
__________________
Ken P.

Pro Tools HD on PC
Pro Tools LE on Mac G5 and MacBook Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Probably simple Newbie Question re: Monitoring in Headphones while Recording ETThompson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-19-2012 06:39 AM
Monitoring When Recording? asimmd Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-21-2011 07:18 AM
no monitoring while recording kalos ICON & C|24 6 09-02-2006 12:51 PM
Monitoring recording with a 002 in DP 4.6 Digidiot 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-02-2005 01:11 AM
Any Turntablists out there ? Plastik909 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-13-2003 02:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com