Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2018, 05:31 PM
DBboy DBboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Default Input Monitoring Workflow Question

Is there a way to disable input monitoring completely in PT Ultimate? LLM isn't an option as it disables any plugins on the record armed track. I see an option to disable input when the transport is stopped but as soon as the track goes into rec/play (ie: punching in) the track goes back into input monitoring. I am using an Apollo interface and monitor input through that. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2018, 07:11 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,166
Default Re: Input Monitoring Workflow Question

Don't have the "I" turned on or in Record. Pretty simple.
If the point is you want to record but not hear, just click M for mute. Mute is post-input (and inserts are pre-fader/mute.) It doesn't mute the input just the output.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2018, 08:49 PM
DBboy DBboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Default Re: Input Monitoring Workflow Question

Muting the track won’t help when punching in. The artist should hear what was recorded before the punch in point. Deselecting input (I) doesn’t work either since as soon as the track is in record, it goes into input. This is what I would like to override. Hope that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2018, 09:36 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,166
Default Re: Input Monitoring Workflow Question

To quote from the manual
Quote:
If a record-enabled track is in Auto Input
Monitor mode, you will hear “through” the
input while the Transport is stopped. The
track automatically switches to playback
when you press play, then back to Input
mode when you either stop, or punch into record.
For more information, see “Auto Input
Monitoring” on page 511.
Which means the I isn't lit but the R is when in record

This is what you want and then you want to be in quick punch/track punch record mode verses normal record. See Chapters 24 and 26 in the manual about all the options on record modes.
Then you hit play and the track plays back what is there until you punch in for record and then it switches to the recording until you punch out again.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2018, 10:02 PM
DBboy DBboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Default Re: Input Monitoring Workflow Question

I think you might misunderstand what I am asking for. I don’t want the track to switch to input when punching in. In fact, I don’t want it to ever go into input at all. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2018, 10:25 PM
DBboy DBboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Default Disabling Input Monitoring Question

Is there a way to disable input monitoring completely in PT Ultimate? LLM isn't an option as it disables any plugins on the record armed track. I see an option to disable input when the transport is stopped but as soon as the track goes into rec/play (ie: punching in) the track goes back into input monitoring. I am using an Apollo interface and monitor input through that. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2018, 11:28 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,166
Default Re: Input Monitoring Workflow Question

So you just want a playback (backing) track?
Then just record on a new track and leave the original track you want to hear with the R and I not selected.

Ok... I think I'm understanding what you want to happen. On the playback track, you need to do the above and just cut and mute the section you are going to re-record on the second track that is in record (that record track being muted since you are going to monitor thorough the Apollo.) Pretty much like a playback count in.

You could turn on automation during record (and write to -inf for the section you are recording over) and do it with automation on the same playback track but that gets more complicated.
Same thing could be done with separating playback and record faders and drop the record fader to -inf. When you punch in, the fader will drop to -inf. (as the recorder fader). You have to go into preferences>operation and uncheck link record and play faders. Then put the track into record (proper record) and drop the fader to -inf to control the record fader. That will be your "set up" before doing your actually tracking.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB

Last edited by BScout; 12-29-2018 at 11:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2018, 11:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,595
Default Re: Disabling Input Monitoring Question

One way... is Preferences>Record>Unlink record and play faders. The "record fader" is your monitoring level. See the Pro Tools Reference Guide.

It's also a good practice where possible to work with LLM work. Offload monitoring plugin processing to your Console. Harder with punch in workflows.

And maybe I'm lost but if you are using punch in and track is record armed and in input monitoring mode you should not hearing any monitoring from pro tools.

A good idea would be to sit down with a trivial one track session and play with all the record and input modes.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-29-2018 at 11:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2018, 04:30 PM
DBboy DBboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Default Re: Disabling Input Monitoring Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
One way... is Preferences>Record>Unlink record and play faders. The "record fader" is your monitoring level. See the Pro Tools Reference Guide.

It's also a good practice where possible to work with LLM work. Offload monitoring plugin processing to your Console. Harder with punch in workflows.

And maybe I'm lost but if you are using punch in and track is record armed and in input monitoring mode you should not hearing any monitoring from pro tools.

A good idea would be to sit down with a trivial one track session and play with all the record and input modes.
Unlink record and play faders doesn't work since the record fader stays down when the (record armed) track is playing, preventing the talent to hear what was recorded before the punch in point. Input monitor mode also doesn't work since it automatically goes into input when "punched in". Perhaps I'm missing something here, but it seems like the only option is to use LLM which is frustrating since it disables any plugins on that track. A simple feature really, just about every DAW on the market has this except PT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input monitoring question guitarist9891 Pro Tools 12 16 09-02-2015 04:09 PM
Input Monitoring Question... alfaholic macOS 2 04-15-2012 10:40 AM
Input Monitoring Question? shanabit Pro Tools 10 4 12-15-2011 11:43 AM
New to pro tools, I have an input/ monitoring question mchristofi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-14-2008 06:32 PM
Analog Input Monitoring Question SolidBodySound Tips & Tricks 3 08-04-2008 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com