Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-16-2016, 07:33 PM
Matt Hepworth's Avatar
Matt Hepworth Matt Hepworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 423
Default Re: Latency and I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Oh come on...

Latency requirement of 3.3ms means traditional monitor would have to be less than one meter away and if artists ears are two metres away it would be a huge problem...
Try listening to yourself sing while you're also hearing yourself sing from 1m away. Really weird and phasey (comb filtering). Obviously, this is impossible to actually try, but you can hear EXACTLY how bad it sounds by tracking vocal through HDN at 44.1.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-17-2016, 02:57 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,535
Default Latency and I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7Seas View Post
You have a point. However, listening with Headphones or IEM, somehow is different?? I don't have experience as I am not a musician, but the fact is, that at about 4 or 5 ms I start having consistent complaints, different musicians, different sessions.


I do occasional gigs as a bass player and I always use IEM for monitoring. I cannot make a difference between analog mix and PT mix 48k@256 buffer (5,3ms latency from buffer alone, then add ADDA and wireless latency). However, 512 buffer makes it impossible to perform due to delay.



I've met so many musicians and the monitoring whine is mostly because artist is not in the comfort zone so simply taking a minute and saying I've fixed it or offering a cup of tea with honey has most often fixed the latency issue.



Earliest digital pianos had 10-12ms latency from keystroke to sound. Somehow the pianists were able to use those things...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-17-2016, 03:12 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,535
Default Re: Latency and I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
Try listening to yourself sing while you're also hearing yourself sing from 1m away. Really weird and phasey (comb filtering). Obviously, this is impossible to actually try, but you can hear EXACTLY how bad it sounds by tracking vocal through HDN at 44.1.
Oh my god, this is what I've done for ages.

Singing live to a mic that is 5cm away from mouth (some negligible latency before voice reaches microphone) and monitoring from a can that is 1,5m away (5ms latency before monitor mix reaches my ear) and I have never had a trouble with it (total +5ms latency assuming analog mix).
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-17-2016, 05:34 AM
7Seas's Avatar
7Seas 7Seas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 65
Default Re: Latency and I/O

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Thanks for the explanation on the RME - I would have never guessed that!

Champagne and beer I am afraid

Personal monitor mixers that accommodate 32 channels are way out of this budget. The Behringer isn't a bad option for 16 ch but be aware that it is anther source of latency (not sure how much).

So you can already do 16ch on total mix so that is of course one option - keep the monitor mixes to 16 ch. A 32 ch analog console for splitting all your live inputs with multiple aux sends is an affordable option. EQ on every channel and you can add a reverb unit to it.

For the all digital approach I have to think a bit. If you don't already have HDN the Avid choices are less wonderful. If you would have to buy all new RME stufff things like Orion 32 come to mind. But I have experience only with AVID and DiGiGrid .
Thank you for your point 'keep the monitor mixes to 16ch.' simple and basic, I was just being stupid I mostly won't need more that 16 ch. of sends to give monition for the mix and all the musicians, I just need to choose 1 or 2 mics of each instrument route everything through 1 RME card, and use Totalmix to do the routing. DUH!!! More work on the patch-bay, I am not exactly a fan of RME's Totalmix either, but, it is a solution. At least until I get rich enough to buy me a HDX card... Thanks man...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation latency when using plugins that have long latency pyrodave Pro Tools 11 2 01-27-2014 12:22 PM
omni/native latency vs mbox pro latency chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 34 03-30-2012 08:24 AM
Latency Issues - changing latency has no effect Kippa-Dee Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-15-2010 09:39 PM
Unity DS-1 and Latency... Anyone else feel the latency makes the Plugin unusable? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-26-2001 05:53 PM
New Latency Specs?? (Oh no, not another latency question!!) gtrboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-05-2000 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com