Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2015, 11:37 AM
postmike postmike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 69
Default "Connecting to Avid Video Engine"

Hello.

Just updated to PT12HD. Did a fresh install on a new drive of both ElCap and subsequently PT12HD. Now, whenever I launch pro-tools...and I mean every single time I launch the application....I get a "Connecting to Avid Video Engine" dialog that takes upwards of a minute to go away.

Extremely annoying. Is anyone else noticing this and is there a fix?

Thanks.

MACPro 12Core 2.26GHz, 32G RAM, Native PCIe, PT12.3.x
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2015, 07:13 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: "Connecting to Avid Video Engine"

Yes, this has actually been going on for some time now with 11xx HD. I see this also now in 12HD. However my rig is now only taking about 10 seconds to connect and I don't know why I'm getting this better behavior. I have many co-workers still experiencing what you are, around a minute to connect. Avid has not weighed in on this too much although I did complete one of their surveys during 2015 which was asking about it. Again my rig is now behaving more properly...10 seconds on an SSD install...but of course other issues remain in the Vid engine...hopefully to be resolved as we get into 2016.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HD Native 11.3 "Waiting for the video engine to launch" bigbuddy3 Pro Tools 11 7 12-25-2014 09:34 PM
"Waiting for the Video Engine to launch" error mrhood Post - Surround - Video 0 07-25-2013 02:28 AM
Can't import video "Avid engine not installed"??? garnoil Post - Surround - Video 9 10-08-2012 05:45 PM
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 10:10 AM
"Avid Video Engine Not Installed" trondned Post - Surround - Video 9 09-17-2009 03:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com