Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-09-2015, 06:52 AM
Spaced Spaced is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Posts: 117
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Command 8 (faders, pans, sends) + Novation ZeroSLII (plug-ins) + Automap + Bluecat PatchWork here. Great solution for me.

Better and cheaper than Console One (essentially the same principle)- enormous choice of plug-ins (VST 2) and completely flexible mapping to the the surface.

Duende Channel strip fits on one page of the Zero SL, sped up my mixing no end
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-09-2015, 07:02 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

This market is dying and will soon be dead. (traditional hardware controllers)

Younger engineers are and will be using the KB and mouse/trackpad OR a touch panel (even though they are inefficient and not ergonomic)

So find something you like and baby it!!


I'm still debating an S6 (while desperately hoping for an S6 MKII)
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-09-2015, 09:54 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,231
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It's pretty much the same thing (controller-wise). C8 just doesn't have preamps and cannot be used as an interface. But as you cannot connect two 002/003 together, connecting a C8 to a setup gives you 16 faders.
I imagine when you add a Command 8 to another or 003 console: then you just get the fader operation and lose the other functions.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-09-2015, 10:13 AM
Michael Zull Michael Zull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 249
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
This market is dying and will soon be dead. (traditional hardware controllers)
Seems to be that way doesn't it? Higher end facilities are installing them, in part I'm assuming because of the client "wow" factor (more pretty lights means better audio, right?). I currently have a Presonus Faderport and my Axiom 49 mapped to plugins, and that setup gives me all the tactile control I really need.

I'd like to see a unit that had 8 physical faders, pans, solos and mutes, and above or next to that a multi-point touchscreen dedicated to plugin control. If they could build something like that in the 1.5k to 2k range I'd be sold. The higher end Avid control surfaces are prohibitively expensive for most smaller or project studios, particularly with the only functionality being knobs and faders. Most would rather take that money and use it for better interfaces, pres, mics, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-09-2015, 11:26 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Hey how about a controller with
- at least 4 faders
- Solo - rec - mute buttons
- Transport section and wheel
- Touch screen
- Eucon

Oh wait - they already have it !

SOOOOOO--- AVID - lets make a deal?

How about you
- Rework that awful Eucon software
- Make macros and batch command programming - map to soft keys
- ability to save and recall different layouts
- plug in mapping (user customizable) using the knobs buttons and the touchscreen
- plus suggestions from others

And charge me $100 for the new software! I'd gladly pay. For the 5 years I have owned these things there has been almost zero development.
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-10-2015, 02:05 PM
simontheoracle simontheoracle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 46
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Far from useless. Maybe you haven't taken the time to really get used to it? C8 is a best kept secret it seems...
I owned a Command 8 for 2 years but just found it to be inaccurate and laggy when trying to control faders and plugins.

Slate Raven on the other hand gives me 5ms of latency which is nothing so very happy now.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-23-2015, 10:13 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by simontheoracle View Post
I owned a Command 8 and I found the plugin control to be absolutely useless too! The latency and inaccuracy when turning a knob in relation to the plugin was really bad IMO. I haven't found a single Hardware DAW controller that does this well enough (excluding the higher end controllers such as Icon and S6 which I have never used).
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
No it's not. Ethernet and USB are two different beasts. But whatever uses HUI protocol has to deal with MIDI latency (about 100ms or so) and the only way to not have it is to do it with a mouse. That is why most controllers fail.
I finally got Command8 for a test. I compared it side by side with Artist Mix.
First of all - there is no latency and Command8 works very smooth. Much smoother than Artist Mix.
I recorded volume automation with two faders going up and down - one fader on Artist Mix, the other on Command8.
Here is the result:
Screen Shot 2015-01-23 at 17.53.42.jpg

As you can see - the volume envelope from Command8 is much smoother.

Generally - for adjusting faders and controlling plugins Command8 beats Artist Series by a long stretch. There is no comparison in quality and smoothness.
Eucon controllers feel "shaky" and laggy. I even see this on S6 videos. From Command8 you get total smoothness and responsiveness.
The only reason why I can't switch back to Command8 is that I rely on soft keys too much: Preview, Capture, Manual Write, switching automation modes - I do that all the time on Artist Control.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-23-2015, 10:32 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Take a look at the video made about controlling plugins with Command8 and Artist Mix:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faqwPMq_Kqo
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-02-2015, 08:57 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Is there any GOOD Plug In controller for Pro Tools?

Well, I have an Artist Mix and a Transport. I was about to purchase another Artist Mix and an Artist Control, but I'm no longer going to do that.These things are glorified toys. Looking at those graphs it looks like they have at least 3 problems...1: they switched to cheaper lower resolution DAC's for decoding to the motors and maybe even ADC's for encoding, and 2: there is excessive noise on the analog buss and/or 3: The scanning timing is inconsistent. These are not the fault of the software but a failing of the hardware...poor design. The bean counters got hold of the purse strings when they spec'd them. THEN you get to the software...if you have the time to figure out how to navigate to the control you want, then you can use the crippled interface to try and get accurate tracking of knobs and faders to approximater what you can do with the mouse and keyboard. Sad and poor....

The Raven has my eye these days.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is a new Mac good for Pro Tools and older plug-ins? Infiltrator macOS 0 12-17-2011 09:35 PM
Good plug-ins for M powered pro tools? SomeSay 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-13-2005 01:38 PM
How good is the 02R-96 as a controller for PT HD? Keyplayer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-11-2003 04:42 AM
Good drum controller? mlemos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-12-2003 07:45 AM
Is HUI still a good controller? David Fisher 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-08-2002 05:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com