Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2012, 04:37 PM
ncmetalguitar88 ncmetalguitar88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 28
Default PT10 "Cannot connect to Eleven Rack"

This has just started happening to me and I do not know why.

I will turn on my 11R, then start up PT10LE. PT loads up fine, so I select a session and it loads normally until it starts to load the 11R plugins. From this point it sits for a minute, then says "Failed to connect with Eleven Rack. Would you like to try again?" Doesn't matter what I do so I shut down PT, turn off the 11R and try it all again. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't.

Not saying they are related, but I did not download the PT update that was just released.

I get this message randomly it seems, as sometimes it works just fine. It also seems to only happen right as I start up PT. All of the connections are firm and I re-downloaded all of the drivers.

Anyone know what could be causing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2012, 05:09 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,712
Default Re: PT10 "Cannot connect to Eleven Rack"

have you tried another USB port?

have you tried another USB cable?

Windows? OSX?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2020
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2012, 06:44 PM
ncmetalguitar88 ncmetalguitar88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 28
Default Re: PT10 "Cannot connect to Eleven Rack"

I am using the USB that came with the 11R, so I hope that isn't it. I do not currently have a different one though. I will have to try that and the port idea next time it happens.

Also I am on Windows... which, at least if I asked the people at my recording school, would be the source of all of my problems. One way or the other. Lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2012, 07:01 PM
ncmetalguitar88 ncmetalguitar88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 28
Default Re: PT10 "Cannot connect to Eleven Rack"

Also, I just tried to connect and the exact message is

"Communication with the "Eleven Rack" has experienced and error. Would you like to re-connect?"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2012, 12:47 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: PT10 "Cannot connect to Eleven Rack"

Have you tried re-installing 11R drivers?

Reinstall with 11R turned off then reboot with it switched on.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2012, 12:39 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,516
Default Re: PT10 "Cannot connect to Eleven Rack"

Thing is most computers like to have all their peripherals connected and powered up before they (the computer) go through their bootup sequence. Especially on Windoze. Hot swapping and hot plugging usually doesn't work in Windoze. So - power up your 11R (and any other peripherals) BEFORE powering up your computer.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2012, 09:09 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: PT10 "Cannot connect to Eleven Rack"

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Thing is most computers like to have all their peripherals connected and powered up before they (the computer) go through their bootup sequence. Especially on Windoze. Hot swapping and hot plugging usually doesn't work in Windoze. So - power up your 11R (and any other peripherals) BEFORE powering up your computer.
Yep, I've found powering audio interfaces after boot up seems to corrupt the drivers somehow....and not every time...sometimes yes and other times not. Re-installing the drivers fixed it for me.

Since powering interfaces on before boot up, I've had no problems.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solution to "Track could not be record-enabled" issue with PT10 and Eleven Rack spankyq Pro Tools 10 8 04-20-2015 08:19 AM
Eleven rack (11R) slow booting past "setting up midi" Edleigh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-25-2011 09:44 PM
"Eleven Rack" window gone in PTLE after upgrading to Lion? Deny Eleven Rack 6 10-03-2011 07:23 PM
Do I need the "Transfer Ownership Audio" form to sell my Eleven Rack? acmost General Discussion 5 04-16-2011 12:07 AM
Eleven Rack "Unable to locate Digidesign hardware" efisch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-07-2011 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com