Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:15 PM
dwman dwman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default Replacing Drum Sounds

Hey folks,
I know there has been a lot of discussion about this , but is there an easier way to replace drums that are individually tracked with better drum samples that does not require going from transient to transient to replace them? Is there a way to trigger a drum sample from sampltank or resaon in order to accomplish this task?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2006, 03:52 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Replacing Drum Sounds

I'm afraid not, i went as far as emailing a Pro Tools book author about this and this was the way he advised. In LE this is the only way to do it unless you want to pay for digi sound replacer or drumagog. One thing that will make it slightly quicker if you are not all ready doing it is to mute the track using the command m function, this greys the track out so you can still tab the transients and also paste over the original wave without everything going mad.

Regards
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,543
Default Re: Replacing Drum Sounds

To trigger samples from Reason or other programs, you would need a trigger-midi interface. Alesis DM4, DM5. Any Roland or Yamaha drum module or the old Roland PM-16. Send audio from the track to a trigger input and assing the right midi note. You would also need to advance the new track to line up with the original(due to latency) but ut would be pretty simple compared to the rest of this technique. Kinda makes SoundReplacer a bargain.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,543
Default Re: Replacing Drum Sounds

To trigger samples from Reason or other programs, you would need a trigger-midi interface. Alesis DM4, DM5. Any Roland or Yamaha drum module or the old Roland PM-16. Send audio from the track to a trigger input and assing the right midi note. You would also need to advance the new track to line up with the original(due to latency) but ut would be pretty simple compared to the rest of this technique. Kinda makes SoundReplacer a bargain. What about renting the plugin from the DigiStore?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing MIDI sounds with samples or live drum kit bryced87 Tips & Tricks 2 12-14-2013 08:28 PM
Loading in Drum Sounds & replacing oncepureband Tips & Tricks 4 05-17-2011 09:49 AM
Replacing Click Track sounds bakedbeansrecord Tips & Tricks 8 03-24-2007 02:28 PM
Apulsoft apTrigga2 for replacing drum sounds MDog Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 03-20-2005 06:15 PM
replacing sounds on drumkit - help! Paul_Wolf 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-23-2002 11:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com