Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2004, 10:29 AM
antenna antenna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: london
Posts: 7
Default Drum sound replacing help.

While our drummer is away recuperating, I set myself a task to learn protools editing by mapping to, and re-creating an entire track to a performance taped on a cassette during rehearsal! I only have an MBox, but since we're not recording more than 1 instrument at a time -no problem.

I figured I would also learn more about drum editing for the future if I can match his (great) performance beat for beat,

OK, I built a tempo map that changes beat by beat if necessary, it took half a day to map using tab to transient, and the snare, bass drum and hi hat samples all snap to the grid and sit well with the drums except.....

There are a few breaks I cannot make sound 'real' -
One is a bar of triplets on the snare, so 12 hits, that always sounds like a machine gun, even if I mix up 3 or 4 separate samples and I've snapped to every one of his hits,

- Any tips or tricks?

Another is how to duplicate samples through the song. Because the tempo is constantly variable, each (for instance) hi-hat sample needs to be of a different duration. The samples I have were recorded at 110bpm whereas the track I have is 145bpm so time shrinking makes them sound fake. I tend to trim a 'master' sample to be an 1/8 note long, then place these across the song, then go back and re-trim each one to expand to snap to the next one along so they are 1/4 notes (but different durations) etc. I end up with hundreds of samples in the directory.

Is this the way it should be done? Or is there a faster/neater way?

Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2004, 01:15 AM
Cramulh Cramulh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Paris
Posts: 2
Default Re: Drum sound replacing help.

For your bar of triplets, you should remember that drummers are not machines and try to nudge slightly each note. You should also vary the levels of the hits, for example the first hit is often louder, like all the notes played with the right hand (if your drummer is right handed)
Hope it will help you !
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loading in Drum Sounds & replacing oncepureband Tips & Tricks 4 05-17-2011 09:49 AM
replacing drum sound with samples VENUE? eriksumo VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 06-01-2010 10:38 AM
Drum Replacing revert979 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 03-29-2009 11:19 AM
Replacing a Kick Drum Sound roainfo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-15-2007 04:06 PM
Replacing Drum Sounds dwman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-11-2006 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com