Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2011, 10:11 PM
pinnacle pinnacle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney
Posts: 204
Default Lion questions

Hi, I have a macbook pro with OSX 10.7.1 lion and I need to get pro tools as Im studying and have to use it.
I see that lion is now supported but is still beta but I have a few questions Im hoping someone may be able to answer first. Im basically a poor student and I do not want to waste my hard earned money on software and interfaces that do not work correctly with my system.

Do I buy version 9 from the shop or do I download?

Anything before 9.0.5 does not work with lion but isn't what I buy from the shop 9? Do I need to and will I be able to install this incompatible version and then update to 9.0.5 or can I buy 9.0.5 from somewhere?

Are the updates free?

Once it is no longer Beta will I have to pay for the new version?

Is the student version limited in any way? Number of installs etc?

Looking at the website I see there are also many different pro tools 9 products including LE, M power, HD, cross grade etc etc. Which one do I need to buy?? Talk about confusing.

On top of all this confusion I also have to try and find out about drivers for interfaces. I am looking at getting an RME fireface. Do I need a driver for that?

These are my tech details

Macbook pro
early 2011
250Gb SSD
2.2 GHz intel core i7
8gb 1333 Mhz DDr3
Intel HD graphics 3000 512mb
Osx Lion 10.7.1

Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2011, 10:36 PM
Kobra Kobra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 92
Default Re: Lion questions

If you buy the download now, I believe 9.0.5 is what will show up in your account.
I have installed it and it seems to run fine on 10.7.1 here. The only snag I ran into after installing, was that Pro Tools closed while starting up the first time. After trying again a couple times, it worked just fine.

Since my audio interface (Apogee Duet) does not yet have a driver released, I am still doing my work mainly on the Snow Leo partition (actually a second drive). This should be taken care of within the next week or so if Apogee is on schedule (their site says the driver will be released in August).

So... you should be fine, as long as you make sure you have a audio interface that is ready for Lion, (or if you can get by with the built-in audio for now).
Also, check to make sure your 3rd party plug-ins, if you use any, are compatible with Lion + PT 9.0.5.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" 2.66 i7, 8GB RAM / 10.11.5 / Pro Tools 12 / Komplete Ultimate / EWQLSO Gold Play Edition / Steven Slate Drums / Logic Pro / Apogee Duet
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:14 PM
zcherries zcherries is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Lion questions

If you purchased a student copy of PT9, correct me somebody if I'm wrong, but I believe you get 4 years of free upgrades to get you through your college years.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2011, 11:51 PM
pinnacle pinnacle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: sydney
Posts: 204
Default Re: Lion questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kobra View Post
If you buy the download now, I believe 9.0.5 is what will show up in your account.
I have installed it and it seems to run fine on 10.7.1 here. The only snag I ran into after installing, was that Pro Tools closed while starting up the first time. After trying again a couple times, it worked just fine.

Since my audio interface (Apogee Duet) does not yet have a driver released, I am still doing my work mainly on the Snow Leo partition (actually a second drive). This should be taken care of within the next week or so if Apogee is on schedule (their site says the driver will be released in August).

So... you should be fine, as long as you make sure you have a audio interface that is ready for Lion, (or if you can get by with the built-in audio for now).
Also, check to make sure your 3rd party plug-ins, if you use any, are compatible with Lion + PT 9.0.5.
Hi thanks for the help. What do you mean by 'show up in my account' ?
Where exactly do I download the student version of 9.0.5? What about this ilock thing? Dont i need one of those? Could you possibly post a link as I cant seem to find any download link. In fact the entire avid website is shambolic, if it was possibleI would smash it Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossible to start Pro Tools on MacPro after downgrade Mountain Lion back to LION DESVED Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-21-2013 04:18 PM
Lion or Mountain Lion for mid-2009 MBP with PT9 miezurecords macOS 0 03-17-2013 01:38 AM
Would you go from Snow Leopard to Lion (not Mountain Lion) if you could? EricWillhelm macOS 9 01-11-2013 11:55 AM
Mac OSX Lion compatibility questions bryced87 macOS 6 06-21-2012 09:01 AM
Lion + 9.0.5 questions Codo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-02-2011 02:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com