Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:22 AM
Fladlien Fladlien is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 93
Default Question about recording vocals...

Here's what I want to do: I want to set up the mic track to record the vocalist from the booth, and I want to find the easiest way to set up a talk mic to communicate with the vocalist during the session. Is there any easy way to do this? On my old recorder I could mute the talk mic channel from recording, but it would still be audioable to the vocalist. The only way I've been able to do that in pro tools is to arm the talk mic track to record, and then to disarm it right before I record. I hope there is a better way than this. Basically I want a hassle free way to be able to use a talk mic and record the vocalist without having to do a bunch of toggling. Is this easily done in pro tools? Thank you for reading.

Hare Krsna.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:26 AM
DOUBLE EDGE DOUBLE EDGE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: MIAMI,FL
Posts: 270
Default Re: Question about recording vocals...

instead of using an audio track for the Talk Back, use an AUX instead, and set the input for the TB mic. I also add a gate on the AUX insert and set it so that it only pics up when i speak.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 - PT 7.3.1 cs2 -
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:48 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: Question about recording vocals...

Quote:
I also add a gate on the AUX insert and set it so that it only pics up when i speak.
Not a half-bad idea, but it's also not a half-good idea...that is, if you're using monitors for playback rather than headphones in the control room. Because during playback, the sound in your room will open the gate anyhow, which will cause the talent to hear playback through both their headphones and your talkback mic.

I've got my cue system setup as such:
I've put a little Yamaha MG10/2 mixer in the iso booth and I send a mult of the talent's mic (i.e. no latency), a PT headphone mix specifically for them (built with Aux sends), and my talkback mic arrives on a different channel so they can control all of it separately. I've also got an effects box on one of the Yamaha's aux sends, so they can dial up their own reverb if they want it.

I set up the talkback mic like this:
It's a cheapo MXL991 plugged into input 4 on my 002r. I bring it up on an Aux input in PT and only send it out to the talkback mic channel in the booth - that way I don't get any of it in my monitors, but I can still record it in PT for slates, cues, notes, etc. Instead of a gate, I put a limiter on it and use the external key to have the talkback mic channel automatically shutdown during playback. If there's not enough steady program material on any given track to completely shutdown the talkback input during playck, I'll create a track that just has a steady tone on it and key off that.

Takes a little bit o' setting up, but it's worth it.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2004, 07:51 AM
41217 41217 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 205
Default Re: Question about recording vocals...

This is an easy way...On each channel send the mix to your main O/P (1&2) as usual, then Apple/Command click the same O/P on each channel again to send the same mix to an alternate output(eg 3&4), set up your talkback mic on a Aux track & set its O/P to the alternate 3&4 O/P!

Bearing in mind you can choose what you want to go to the headphones, but essentially they are recieving the same mix as yourself, try not to muck with the faders while tracking as it will affect their cans!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2004, 09:02 AM
DOUBLE EDGE DOUBLE EDGE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: MIAMI,FL
Posts: 270
Default Re: Question about recording vocals...

yeah that would be a problem.. but in my case i use a dynamic mic and small 4inch speakers for monitoring when recording so it doesnt really affect it.. but you raised a good point.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 - PT 7.3.1 cs2 -
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording Vocals with 11R RLMartinez Eleven Rack 13 09-25-2011 05:12 PM
recording vocals with 002 bigboi78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-28-2007 01:38 PM
Question w/ recording vocals? signal levels? rpb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-19-2004 05:12 PM
Recording Vocals Jose A Lugo Tips & Tricks 7 08-08-2002 01:35 AM
recording vocals rems 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-08-2002 10:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com