Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2004, 05:11 PM
thevessels thevessels is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 16
Default optimizing your mac...?

ok what are some tips to get the most out of your mac when using pro tools
should u make a new account and disable everything ?
what are some guidlines or anything to help your machine all around run smoother
thanks
-chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2004, 09:24 AM
TrickyDyk TrickyDyk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: optimizing your mac...?

More more more more more more and more memory! Get as much as you can fit in your machine. I would also suggest doing a google search for OS X performance tips. There is some valuble info floating around the web.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:00 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: optimizing your mac...?

Installing more memory than is needed will yield no performance benefit.
Learn how memory is used, and learn how to interpret Activity Monitor.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2004, 10:38 AM
41217 41217 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 205
Default Re: optimizing your mac...?

Tele's right!Theres a cap on the amount of memory used for ProTools!
If you wan to optimise your mac for PT, then just follow the guidelines that go with the installation!
Dont use your mac for anything else also helps,no games,no NET!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:20 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: optimizing your mac...?

I also disagree on the 'don't use the Mac for anything else', though for most people, that's probably the simplest solution.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2004, 12:14 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,524
Default Re: optimizing your mac...?

Quote:
I also disagree on the 'don't use the Mac for anything else', though for most people, that's probably the simplest solution.
simplest solution for being able to use the computer for everything and still have good protools performance is to have a dedicated protools user in the system and not use that account for anything else but protools and other audio apps. it is true that normal use of a system will clutter it over time, so keeping things tidy for protools cannot hurt
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimizing for 8.0 Andy Gerome 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-13-2009 08:04 AM
Optimizing PT 5.1 for G4 Sonicvalley Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-12-2004 03:14 AM
Optimizing OS X 10.3.2 for PT 6.2.2 LE p_frog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-01-2004 07:44 AM
Optimizing XP Pro - Help Please! wizard333 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-30-2003 11:55 AM
Optimizing.... SoundAdvice Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-06-2000 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com