Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-20-2005, 05:09 AM
41217 41217 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 205
Default Re: Is Digidesign Smug?

I know!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-20-2005, 09:58 AM
ggunn ggunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Posts: 235
Default Re: Is Digidesign Smug?

Quote:
I've heard a lot of complaints about Digidesign. Arrogance, software that requires tons of patches, stuff just not working. I finally went and bought a digi 001 system, and I must say this is the FIRST application I've ever bought that won't even launch. Oh yea, I followed the manuals exactly. And my computer runs perfectly with demanding programs like Final Cut Pro and Photoshop. Nice product Digi!
I, too, bought a used 001. I took it out of the box, installed ProTools, and everything came right up. I was recording in 10 mins. My mac is a 466 MHz G4 "digital audio".

I have read elsewhere on this forum about compatability probs with some older Macs, specifically the "mirror door" designs. Maybe that is what you are running into. If so, it's a Mac issue, not Digidesign.
__________________
Gordon in Austin
Mac G4 Digital Audio 466MHz
MacOS 9.2, 1.25GB RAM, 110GB HD
digi 001, PT LE 5.3
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-20-2005, 10:27 AM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Is Digidesign Smug?

Quote:
And wasting time talking to tech support is exactly what I'm talking about.
I've always felt it was very productive time.
The thing you have to realize about PT is that it is written to go around the OS. Not like Apple Apps that are written for the OS. That is why there are so many compato issues. I thought you may have figured out when I gave the link that for your OS you would need PT 5.1 and that you are running on a host system that may not be qualified.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-20-2005, 03:33 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Is Digidesign Smug?

1st Generation MDD powermacs had issues with the motherboard that made them incompatible with the 001. If you're getting kernel panics or the whole machine is freezing you probably have a rev.A motherboard and should consider going to an apple repair center if you have one near you to get a new one. I doubt it'll be covered by any warranty though anymore, it was a while ago that those came out, and since it only affected 001's specifically most people didn't need the rev.b board, so there's lots of used ones floating around out there that may cause problems.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2005, 03:50 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,637
Default Re: Is Digidesign Smug?

Hi,

Some Digi 001 users have experienced a system hang on startup with early models of these CPUs. If you have experienced this problem with a Digi 001 when connected to one of the "mirrored door" G4s, you should contact AppleCare at 1 800 APL-CARE (within the U.S.). For those customers outside of the US, there should be an AppleCare card included in your Apple product packaging which has the local AppleCare phone number. When contacting AppleCare, customers should refer to the "Digidesign Digi 001 audio system". This sounds like what you are experiencing. You can find this information here . I hope this helps,
Thanks,
Digidesign Tech Support
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-20-2005, 07:53 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,516
Default Re: Is Digidesign Smug?

Other posts on this thread are correct, Pro Tools LE 5.0 was never tested on Mac OS 9.2

If you have the single processor 1.25 GHZ MDD model, then it will boot in OS 9:
http://everymac.com/systems/apple/po..._1.25_mdd.html

If it is the dual model, it will not boot in OS 9, and will only run OS 9 Classic in OS X. Classic will not work with any version of Pro Tools.

Since you definitely have Mac OS X with either version of the 1.25 GHz MDD, then you would probably be better off purchasing the upgrade to Pro Tools LE 6.4

The specially priced ($35 USD) upgrade to Pro Tools LE 6.4 for Digi 001 owners is only available on the DigiStore:
http://store.digidesign.com

Look under Pro Tools Legacy Upgrades on the US store, listed on the left side. Or under Pro Tools Upgrades on the European stores:
Pro Tools® LE 6.4 Software Upgrade for Digi 001 Users (Mac OS X)

To complete your order, you will need your Digi 001 hardware Serial Number which can be found on the back or bottom of your 001 breakout box (the audio interface part, not the PCI card).

Your Digi 001 does not have to be registered, and you do not need to have any previous installation of Pro Tools to use the full installers. You will be able to download after you order, and you will also automatically be sent the Pro Tools LE 6.4 CD.

Pro Tools LE 6.4 is the last version that will work with the Digi 001. For compatibility information, please see the Digi 001 links in the Compatibility Documents section in Support:
http://www.digidesign.com/compato
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Digidesign Procontrol / Digidesign Control24 _Nexo_ Buy & Sell 6 09-15-2017 04:16 PM
How do I connect a Digidesign Eleven to my Digidesign 003? Robert Todd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-24-2011 01:43 PM
digidesign 192 digital and digidesign pre connection help benhurk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-20-2009 08:46 PM
digidesign.com down? nimbusthegreat General Discussion 9 12-19-2008 01:37 AM
Digidesign 442 and Digidesign Amadeus Interface Audioprof Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 04-05-2004 11:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com