Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-11-2019, 01:18 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
LOL

Nope! PT will say that you need atleast 4TB ram if you only have 3TB
Good joke! Taking in account that the 1.5 TB fully loaded MacPro will cost $52,000.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.10 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-12-2019, 03:44 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,443
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Even though I was half joking but my serious question is: Will this machine *actually* make a difference when working in PT seeing it choking even on the fastest machines available now? Are people really going to spend multiple 10k$ to work around -9173 errors, out of memory messages, or automation too dense issues?

Oh, we wouldn't need drives or SSDs anymore anyway because the entire project incl. AVID media and production sound could be kept in RAM. So no more "drive too slow" errors, right?.....right?!

(asking for a friend)
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-12-2019, 07:37 AM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 626
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Hmm, what Frank says gives me pause for thought.
It does look like a good investment though if it lasts 10 years and is upgrade able after purchase, ideally not only by Apple, which would be swingeingly expensive!
Does anyone know if they've managed to block do it yourself processor upgrades somehow? I wouldn't put it past them.
__________________
Mac Pro 6,1 12 core, OSX 10.14.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, 888 IO, 192 IO, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, MC Mix, PT Control, Eucon 19.9, PT 2019.10
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2019, 01:43 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,683
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

The future is promising I should admit: after Avid will adopt Pro Tools to 64 bit only Catalina OS, will it then release some more potential power e.g. being able to use more RAM?
I also understand that the older MacPro's 2010–2012 will not be supported by Catalina anymore.
So probably we are facing the point where we need machines upgrade.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.10 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-12-2019, 06:03 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 792
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
The future is promising I should admit: after Avid will adopt Pro Tools to 64 bit only Catalina OS, will it then release some more potential power e.g. being able to use more RAM?
I doubt it, Pro Tools is already 64-bit (as is AvidVideoEngine). You probably save some memory and disk space by not having the 32-bit libraries around but I suspect this is a negligible benefit.

Quote:
I also understand that the older MacPro's 2010–2012 will not be supported by Catalina anymore. So probably we are facing the point where we need machines upgrade.
That is correct. It can be done apparently, but I imagine it's about as much fun as running a Hackintosh (OS upgrades may break things etc).

What configuration are people thinking for the new Mac Pro? I am thinking rack-mount, 4TB internal SSD (because frankly by the time I price PCIe or external storage, it's not much cheaper), 16 core CPU, W5700X GPU (pricing not announced yet), still undecided on RAM. It's a pity they don't sell it without RAM...

Last edited by LukeHoward; 12-12-2019 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-12-2019, 07:04 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,131
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Here is OWC Ram for it:
https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memo...e-mac-pro/2019

It is about 35-40% cheaper than Apple Ram.
There are 2 kinds of Ram for it
R- Dimm or LR- Dimm
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT210405

"R-DIMMs for configurations up to 192GB (6x32GB).
LR-DIMMs for configurations of 384GB (6x64GB) or more
"
YOU CAN NOT MIX THEM!!
The Mac Pro supports both R-DIMMs and LR-DIMMs, but you can't mix these two memory types. Mixing R-DIMMs and LR-DIMMs will result in a memory error flash of the status indicator light when you turn on your computer"
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-12-2019, 11:29 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 792
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Thanks for the links Marti!

OT/PS. thedubstage website is misconfigured for SSL/TLS. (It doesn't work with the www prefix – you need to add it as an alias, as you're using Letsencrypt you might find this link helpful.)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-13-2019, 10:09 AM
octatonic octatonic is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 249
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Mine is coming Thursday.



I've ordered 128GB RAM from OWC for it (4x32GB).

Last edited by octatonic; 12-19-2019 at 02:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-20-2019, 01:58 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

OWC is now also selling M2 NVMe storage for the PCIe slots:

https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/ssd/owc-accelsior-4m2
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-20-2019, 06:41 PM
Exponential Audio's Avatar
Exponential Audio Exponential Audio is online now
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 145
Default Re: Apple New Mac Pro Can Be Ordered Dec 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr sound View Post
"R-DIMMs for configurations up to 192GB (6x32GB).
LR-DIMMs for configurations of 384GB (6x64GB) or more
"
YOU CAN NOT MIX THEM!!
The Mac Pro supports both R-DIMMs and LR-DIMMs, but you can't mix these two memory types.
That's absolutely correct except for one minor detail. You can use R-DIMMS on configurations over 192GB. I've got 384GB of R-DIMM in mine and it's working great. The thing about Apple mentioning LR-DIMM for configs over 192K is just that they're telling you what they're using so that you'll be sure to purchase LR-DIMM if you're adding more to an Apple-configured system. The actual spec part of the document says that either is acceptable as long as you don't mix. I just bought the base 32GB and popped 'em out.

There's an interesting part of the spec that says you can mix capacities if you have the chips in a certain order. That worked for me, but only partially. I was able to use a pair of the original 8GB sticks with a pair of 64GB sticks, to give myself 140GB. But that trick didn't seem to work when I had all 6 of the 64GB sticks in. I was hoping I could get up to a nice round 400GB, but couldn't get that to happen.

One other little storage tip. I'm setting this machine up in part to work with large VI libraries. I had some large SSDs that formerly lived in an external T-Bolt enclosure. Sonnet has a PCI card that will allow you to mount them internally. But the performance is only a little better. A two-drive RAID-0 gets me around 755MB/s in both directions. But if you want to spend some more money (and who doesn't), Sonnet also has a 16-lane card that holds M.2 sticks. I set up a 4-way RAID-0 and measured write speeds of 6740 MB/s and read speeds of 8400 MB/s. Doesn't take nearly as long to load a session!

And of course you know the drill with RAID-0. Back 'em up!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After All This...Mac Pro Ordered jauk macOS 5 04-05-2014 01:16 PM
just ordered a set of... maxpidgee The Drum Room 2 04-03-2010 08:42 AM
003 ordered, now need a new mac OneMadSon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-26-2007 06:21 PM
Ordered it! will the moor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-02-2005 11:50 PM
I just ordered my first MAc! Jace Everett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 02-29-2004 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com