Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-04-2019, 02:25 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,807
Default Re: Protools Ultimate - can use virtual outputs like - Rogue Amoeba

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
You cannot CoreAudio aggregate with any DigiLink interfaces you are using from Pro Tools. These are exclusive uses, if they are the playback engine they sure won't appear in the aggregate IO list. And you presumably want the HDX as playback engine. And aggregate IO is not great even if possible with most interfaces.
I'm surprised to read that. I've not had any issues with the Aggregate. True, it excludes Digilink interfaces when it's the playback engine, but if you know that going in, and have a reason to use it, Aggregate is solid. At least it has been for me. Setup can be cumbersome, however, and not intuitive.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-04-2019, 02:27 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,807
Default Re: Protools Ultimate - can use virtual outputs like - Rogue Amoeba

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justanaudioguy View Post
Ok so I must be missing something. MAC OS Sierrra 12.10.6 Running PT Ultimate 2018.10.0 with a single HDX Card, HD i/o, HD MADI.

Analog 1/2 feeds Main out to speakers and 6 feeds phone patch.
Digital is setup for 9 -10. Toslink cables going to CPU for i/o to internal card.

I get sound off internet and can record anything - ok part of the battle.
If I loop back test with ipdtl I get the loop - loop - loop - so I'm guessing that's just figuring out the mix minus issue there. BUT

The company has a ipdtl 4 x licence. The goal here is; using ipdtl record two voiceover talents and use ipdtl to also call the conference number so creative can direct talent and send a link to a TBD video conference all at the same time. So I need 8 streams of audio.

We have the Nexus software. I see it has 24 I/O sub channels. ipdtl only sees "A" n "B" not the individual channels. Loopback sees the sub channels though.
Do I need an other third party I/O card to get more channels? Is the internal mac optical only stereo?

I looked at setting up and PT aggregate but the HDX card is NOT in the list of devices. So this brings me back to- DO i need a third party I/O?

OR are we stuck and have to set up the ipdtl x 4 via MADI on another computer? : (
Let me check in with my post guys. They use Nexus and ipDTL and hardware similar to yours, every day, and it's super-slick and without issues.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-04-2019, 02:43 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,570
Default Re: Protools Ultimate - can use virtual outputs like - Rogue Amoeba

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
I'm surprised to read that. I've not had any issues with the Aggregate. True, it excludes Digilink interfaces when it's the playback engine, but if you know that going in, and have a reason to use it, Aggregate is solid. At least it has been for me. Setup can be cumbersome, however, and not intuitive.
It depends greatly on what you are aggregating... how good the drivers are... some vendors (e.g. Motu) seem to spend time worrying about that, most don’t. Also having interfaces externally clocked/locked together sure helps (drift correction can not be so great). My starting position would be try to avoid it unless really needed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-04-2019, 03:18 PM
Justanaudioguy Justanaudioguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Florida
Posts: 12
Default Re: Protools Ultimate - can use virtual outputs like - Rogue Amoeba

Thanks everyone for the input/advice. I going to keep banging my head on the brick wall, something usually falls out. So keep the info coming.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-04-2019, 04:13 PM
Jimmix Jimmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: _
Posts: 71
Default Re: Protools Ultimate - can use virtual outputs like - Rogue Amoeba

For multi channel full duplex audio between ProTools and many different core audio apps (Skype, Chrome, Voip, SC etc) that are too simple (consumerish) to address any channels of a multi channel driver other than CH1-2 use both Source-Nexus Pro and Source-Nexus Control. With that combo you can create an input and output driver for every application / endpoint you need to bring in and out of ProTools discreetly. Then each Nexus plugin can be assigned to the individual application's discrete core audio I/O driver. Thus in ProTools you can have an Aux channel for every external app. Each aux channel will handle the particular app's input and output. If your using HDX or HD Native hardware then aggregating core audio devices with sound flower or other virtual drivers won't work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rogue Amoeba Loopback Fritz Pro Tools 10 2 06-18-2019 08:08 PM
FS: AIR Strike 2.0 Ultimate Virtual Drummer Instrument ravenmad Buy & Sell 1 02-14-2014 04:27 PM
Rogue message from protools on screen jamesleonard General Discussion 2 01-22-2014 07:28 AM
Mbox with Audio Hijack Pro / Rogue Amoeba Chris Nelson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-19-2004 07:52 AM
PT's Virtual Midi Outputs?? douglas roberts MIDI 1 09-08-2003 01:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com