Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2015, 05:17 PM
audioactive7 audioactive7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 9
Default 10.3.10 unstable

Went to PTHD 10.3.4 in December and it was quite stable. But, I sure did miss toggling the input button during overdubs. It did not work. They fixed that but...

Since going to 10.3.10 PT has been quite unstable. Anyone else experiencing this? A crash or 2 a day.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2015, 05:21 PM
audioactive7 audioactive7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 9
Default Re: 10.3.10 unstable

I should add I've done the obvious stuff. It acts like it has too little RAM.
The system usage meter is FAR from maxed. My system is checking out fine with diagnostic tools.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2015, 05:57 PM
erniepotts erniepotts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3
Default Re: 10.3.10 unstable

Mines has been pretty stable.

Are you recording to a dedicated hard drive for audio?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2015, 07:58 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Question Re: 10.3.10 unstable

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioactive7 View Post
A crash or 2 a day.
Could you please post any of the .crash files where we can view them (i.e. DropBox) and provide a link in this thread?
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2015, 08:14 PM
audioactive7 audioactive7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 9
Default Re: 10.3.10 unstable

Naturally, been on a an external SATA drive. Been a pretty much a power user for many years. I will post the crash reports, thx.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2015, 05:53 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,891
Default Re: 10.3.10 unstable

Quote:
Originally Posted by audioactive7 View Post
Went to PTHD 10.3.4 in December and it was quite stable. But, I sure did miss toggling the input button during overdubs. It did not work. They fixed that but...

Since going to 10.3.10 PT has been quite unstable. Anyone else experiencing this? A crash or 2 a day.
System details?
Sandra report would be very helpful if you're on Windows.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:31 AM
audioactive7 audioactive7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 9
Default Re: 10.3.10 unstable

Wanted to update that the PT10 HD stability problems I was experiencing seemed to be related to using Slate VMR, and not my recent upgrade to 10.3.10. It was also causing the low memory error which has been mentioned on another thread.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-2015, 08:44 PM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,835
Default 10.3.8 x 10.3.10

I have been using 10.3.8HD since January: It has 2 bugs:
a) Sometimes Pro Tools HD does not launch;

b) Sometimes when trying the save session copy in to another drive it says it is not possible to finish the task or locks at the very last point.

Have you guys faced these 2 bugs with 10.3.10?
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-12-2015, 08:47 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,807
Default Re: 10.3.10 unstable

Memory issues with 10.3.10 have been reported numerous times. I've seen them myself. Otherwise it's relatively stable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2015, 09:09 PM
Giftofsound Giftofsound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: 10.3.10 unstable

With 32 gigs of RAM I am also experiencing "memory-like" crashes with PT10.3.10 HD . About 5 plus crashes a day.
__________________
Matt R. Sherman
Re-Recording Mixer/Sound Editor
http://www.giftofsound.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is PT so unstable for me? typhy macOS 1 07-31-2012 01:55 PM
Unstable HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 03-11-2010 10:02 PM
AAF unstable? jackisdead Post - Surround - Video 2 08-26-2008 04:01 PM
Why is PT 6.4.1 so unstable on OS 10.3.8..Help!. postman56 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-07-2008 07:22 PM
Mac? Unstable? link 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 05-05-2000 04:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com