Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-16-2017, 01:40 AM

Default (Please help me) Basic question about Stereo and Mono track

Hi I'm a beginner for Pro tools.

I have a basic question about the difference between stereo and mono track for film post sound.

I'm working on post sound with Pro tools 12 HD for a short film (7min long).

The editor 'locked cut' in Adobe Premiere so I exported audio file as AAF and made a new session with this AAF file.

All the Audio tracks have been made in pro tools, however, it turned out with two audio tracks with L, R. Ex) Audio 01_L , Audio 01_R.
(But the weird thing is, some of them were not, it was still the mono track but didn't divided into two with L, R. If somebody knows about this too, please let me know....)

Since I don't know how to edit the volume form together both L, R at the same time, I would like to make two mono tracks into one stereo track by dragging them into the new stereo track.

Is this ok to do it in Flim post sound?

I mean, I tested in Pro tools and listened to them, It sound just as same (both mono and stereo).

Does it really affect the audio If I make the two L, R mono tracks into one Stereo track?

How professional audio post production people work with all the tracks?
Do they put all the clips into Stereo tracks to make it easier to adjust the volume or mixing? Or just work on with mono tracks with other shortcuts?

It might be too basic to ask.. but please reply to this posting if you know the answer or have any experience with this problem....
desperately want to know the right way to do post sound for film..
Thank you.
Old 11-16-2017, 03:49 AM