Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2020, 09:41 AM
frazzz frazzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default HDX

Hello,

OK I ask for a little assistance with the Pro Tools software side of things.

I got myself an HDX card so I could have one of these for future use - I do have an account with Avid I think but not really used it yet.

Please correct me any of this is not correct.

12.8.3 is the final version of Pro Tools that is supported with Windows 7 and anything from 12.6 upwards requires an Digi-link I/O license as well.

As I plan to use 3rd party interfaces I know one of these are needed.

If a new perpetual license was purchased for the current version of PT Ultimate would it be possible to use all older versions of PT if I wanted to?

eg_using_12.8 on Windows 7?

Maybe others have crossed this situation as well - Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2020, 12:10 PM
frazzz frazzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: HDX

Hi,

Got an email from Avid - Any new licenses bought now are compatible with the older versions of PT which is good news.

I've created an account (master)_and a download account as well so the PT versions can be downloaded.

I take it there is no problem downloading and using the downloads so long as there is a current valid license is on iLok - Any comments welcome thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2020, 01:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,402
Default Re: HDX

If you have the software in your Avid.com account go ahead and download it and test stuff works...

Don’t forget to actually transfer the license from your ilock.com account to your iLok.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2020, 08:26 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,851
Default Re: HDX

The Digilink license was added as of 12.6, so you will need that as well($299 for permanent digilink license)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-31-2020, 04:41 PM
frazzz frazzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: HDX

Hi,

Yes I've downloaded from the Avid account and will be adding a license at some point for the iLOK account.

There may be a chance to get a V12 license which is legitimate, however, the Avid account only shows software downloads from V 12.6 onwards.

Is there a place to download versions from 12 thru 12.5? - If I decided to go for the 12 perpetual license that may be available

Is there any advantage to doing this? - apart from being able to use PT without Digi-I/O license.

For example is 12.6.1 heaps better than say 12.3?

If I get a subscription all versions from 12.6 are ready for use which is probably the best option but it's good to cover the angles - Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2020, 10:40 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,206
Default Re: HDX

My favorite in that era for "audio only" was 12.4. (But no Collaboration.)
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2020, 03:54 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,914
Default Re: HDX

12.7.1 most stable on my end
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-08-2020, 04:45 PM
frazzz frazzz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: HDX

Hello again,

Thanks for the comments - I've downloaded quite a few of the older PT versions starting with 12.6.

I've decided I'd go with the subscription model as the perpetual version still has some plugins tied to the subscription model and if enough is saved then the price comes down by paying for 1 year in one go - This is the cheapest way.

I know also that a Digi_Link license is needed for 3rd party interfaces eg_focusrite and is £250 (one off payment)&_perpetual_non_repeatable_payment - This is correct isn't it?

If a 2nd 3rd party interface was added -(antelope_audio_for_example)_the 1 x digi_link license would still be OK would it? -

I was looking for the newer HD / HDX driver downloads for the cards - I assume a driver is required isn't it? - separately to the PT software?

I've not taken the plunge yet on the subscription but would like to get the drivers lined up if possible along with all the versions of PT already downloaded so just the drivers are needed now - but they don't appear to be in the Master account nor the download section - Thanks for info.

<<<<<< ok I do apologize, as I've looked thorugh the downloads and the HD drivers have been downloaded (and backed up)_ these are for core_audio support are they not? - eg - using a "regular" DAW eg Reaper, Cubase with the HDX cards and limited to 32 I/O ? - this must be correct right?

I'll re_phrase the question - are any other drivers needed to get the HDX cards to work with PT? - once the digi_link_license_is covered and the payment plan also - Then it'd be ready to work without any further drivers?

Last edited by frazzz; 08-08-2020 at 06:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com