Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 04-08-2020, 06:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,408
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Strange. Must be some optimisation you have missed, because 2020.3 is very stable here (on 10.15.4)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 04-08-2020, 07:01 AM
O.v O.v is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Austria
Posts: 6
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

What do you mean?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 04-08-2020, 07:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,408
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

This
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 04-08-2020, 09:04 AM
O.v O.v is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Austria
Posts: 6
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Nope. Nothing changed...
And... I just created a new Session, imported all Audio + Auxes + Automation
from PT2019 Session and everything plays perfectly.
but I save, close and reopen - and it crashes
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 04-08-2020, 09:06 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,408
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

It seems to be corrupting your session with a save. Can you try saving to another drive and see if it works? Even a USB thumb drive in case would be enough for troubleshooting.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 04-08-2020, 09:57 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 639
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

There have been some issues in 2020.3 with video files and paths that use non-English characters. Any chance that could play a role here? Check your drive, folder, and file names for non-English characters and remove to see if that makes a difference? Just a thought... no idea whether this will have any effect, but worth a try.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Yessian
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 04-08-2020, 10:05 AM
O.v O.v is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Austria
Posts: 6
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Well, I already saved and tried to open from external drives.
I cannot open a new session created with PT2020 and cannot open old sessions saved with PT2019.
I also booted from a System Backup SSD drive and tried creating/saving/opening a new file to/from.
iMac runs in English... Startupdrive called Macintosh HD, other drive Called AUDIO1 - so that shouldn't be the problem either...

Thank you guys for all the input - much appreciated!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 04-08-2020, 10:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,408
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Better contact Avid Support right away as it is very strange you have tried three different OS and two different PT and multiple different drives and still your sessions seem to corrupt. I'm sure you have already tried everything you can so now just let Avid help you.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 04-08-2020, 12:22 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,834
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Something is corrupting your sessions as we have used 2020.3 Ultimate for days now and have yet to have any issue at all. Seem to run great on Both High Sierra and Mojave. However on our 2 brand spankin’ new Shiny MP 7.1 28Core machines with Catalina we have issues with delay comping and automations and a few other stuff so not fully Catalina ready yet. We run 200-250 tracks all the time and sometimes more and thats when the CPU errors starts and we have the biggest Mac Pros 7.1 and spec’d out too insanity and still high sierra on 12Core trashcans perform better??!! Live10Suite and LogicX is MUCH BETTER on the new 7.1 Macs but as usual PT just Have to beeeatch out!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 04-08-2020, 01:34 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 721
Default Re: 2020.3 is out

Quote:
Originally Posted by O.v View Post
Well, I already saved and tried to open from external drives.
I cannot open a new session created with PT2020 and cannot open old sessions saved with PT2019.
I also booted from a System Backup SSD drive and tried creating/saving/opening a new file to/from.
iMac runs in English... Startupdrive called Macintosh HD, other drive Called AUDIO1 - so that shouldn't be the problem either...
Full specs please. Try to route pt to the mac internal output. This should save you from some audio interface issue and to isolate the problem
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6

Last edited by JFreak; 04-08-2020 at 01:35 PM. Reason: fixed the quote
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020 PT-Release belasoul Post - Surround - Video 6 03-10-2020 03:17 PM
Pro Tools 2020.1 off the wall Pro Tools 2019 138 01-21-2020 07:12 PM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM
Does anyone use XV-5080 or XV-2020? Atana 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 09-24-2002 10:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com