Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2020, 11:34 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 719
Default 2020 Better CPU Handling?

Hey guys. hoping everyone is coping well with the new world dynamic.
It seems to me that PT 2020 is utilizing CPU resources in a better way than before. I'm running a new medium sized session of 37 tracks at a 64 buffer setting, without any problems. It'll grow to about 75-80 tracks by the time I'm done.
I couldn't do this in 2019; it would be at least 256 to give me this kind of result. Of course I have not tested properly, but I know how sessions behave generally.
Can anyone confirm my observations so far?
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2020, 11:37 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 719
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

I should also mention that there are a lot of plugins in this session.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2020, 12:30 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 580
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

Seems the same here as 2019.12
__________________
10.14.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.5

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-2020, 12:47 PM
rossi68 rossi68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 316
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

It works better than 2019.10 for me.
Windows 10
__________________
Antelope Orion Studio 2017, UA 4-710, Presonus digimax FS, Sony DMX r100
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2020, 01:06 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 719
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rossi68 View Post
It works better than 2019.10 for me.
Windows 10
I must say that I opened the same session in 2019.6, and it kept hanging till I went to 512. Maybe this is a Windows thing/
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2020, 01:22 PM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 192
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

yes, and the CPU meter seems to be more accurate, showing more activity on different cores.
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 10.10. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 10.10. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2020, 01:31 PM
Cutlerbri Cutlerbri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 285
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

I've been running into some error -6101 issues. I've had to move the buffering up. Could be pilot error.
__________________
Brian
See profile page for system details
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2020, 05:13 AM
weezul weezul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 387
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

Mine seems worse, although I haven't opened an older session yet. I'm getting heavy loading on core 4 of 8, sometimes but not always. Maybe for 10 minutes it'll be fine and then I'll press play again, and core 4 is loaded, CPU at 100% and won't play at all. This was only a small session with around 10 tracks. Buffer setting made no difference, and my export speed was 0.8x ... I exported it again when the core wasn't loaded (not sure why, nothing had changed apart from me sitting there and watching the core) and the export speed was 2x .

Will see how it treats me over the next few weeks
__________________
http://www.liamgaughan.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2020, 06:33 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 719
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by weezul View Post
Mine seems worse, although I haven't opened an older session yet. I'm getting heavy loading on core 4 of 8, sometimes but not always. Maybe for 10 minutes it'll be fine and then I'll press play again, and core 4 is loaded, CPU at 100% and won't play at all. This was only a small session with around 10 tracks. Buffer setting made no difference, and my export speed was 0.8x ... I exported it again when the core wasn't loaded (not sure why, nothing had changed apart from me sitting there and watching the core) and the export speed was 2x .

Will see how it treats me over the next few weeks
10 tracks? That doesn't sound good at all. Have you tried loading the same session in 2019? That would help you know if the problem is from 2020. As much as I like PT, we all know it's stability is way too vulnerable to all sorts of little things that just bounce off the thick skin of other DAWs.

I don't know Macs well, but are you covered as far as OS compatibility etc? Plugin compatibility? When I first installed 2020 I had issues with strange auto-restarts, and sessions would either take too long to quit or just hang indefinitely. I had to manually remove all remnants of 2019 and do an ultra-clean install of 2020. Now it's 'all' good. There are a few strange annoying minor bugs that I've noticed, but PT seems to work well for now. Time will tell, because I haven't yet stretched it far enough.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT2020.5 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2020, 10:58 AM
weezul weezul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 387
Default Re: 2020 Better CPU Handling?

I'm on Mojave at the moment, with a Hackintosh (i7 6700k, 16GB RAM, RX580) and have a drive image of the previous version, but not going to restore just yet. It's been absolutely rock solid the whole time until this version. I have a mix just come in which will be a bit larger, metal track so I'll start using folder tracks and stuff. Maybe it was just that session :/ If I get too many buffer errors then I'll probably go back. I never ever get them normally. I have a RayDAT and do everything at 128 buffer with no problem. I'd use 64 but pro tools simply does not work with VIs at 64.


Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
10 tracks? That doesn't sound good at all. Have you tried loading the same session in 2019? That would help you know if the problem is from 2020. As much as I like PT, we all know it's stability is way too vulnerable to all sorts of little things that just bounce off the thick skin of other DAWs.

I don't know Macs well, but are you covered as far as OS compatibility etc? Plugin compatibility? When I first installed 2020 I had issues with strange auto-restarts, and sessions would either take too long to quit or just hang indefinitely. I had to manually remove all remnants of 2019 and do an ultra-clean install of 2020. Now it's 'all' good. There are a few strange annoying minor bugs that I've noticed, but PT seems to work well for now. Time will tell, because I haven't yet stretched it far enough.
__________________
http://www.liamgaughan.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 08:01 AM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-16-2020 11:43 PM
A question of AAX assets handling sunburst79 Pro Tools 10 1 10-29-2011 12:40 PM
How is the video handling in PT 7.2? c.evans Post - Surround - Video 15 10-20-2006 01:49 AM
Handling 96 kHz in PTLE ISedlacek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-16-2004 02:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com