Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2016, 11:37 PM
TC65 TC65 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ryde UK
Posts: 12
Default sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Hi - once again even more problems with the wonderful pro tools.

Now I am getting `the current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44KHz.

I have not changed anything? I always use 48KHz. I cannot find a solution in Setup or anywhere?

Thanks

TC65
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2016, 11:43 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,905
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Tell us more about your system please. OS, interface, Pro Tools version, etc.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2016, 12:11 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 665
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

I geht this message sometimes when the playback engine changed to an unwanted device. Maybe you should check that.

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac Pro 2008, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 12, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-2016, 04:17 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,428
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
I geht this message sometimes when the playback engine changed to an unwanted device. Maybe you should check that.

Best

Mark
I also get that message if for some reason my computer loses communication with the 11 Rack and PT defaults to the computer output.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2016, 11:26 PM
TC65 TC65 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ryde UK
Posts: 12
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Can`t see any unwanted device but I will bear this in mind for future.

Thanks

TC65
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2016, 11:27 PM
TC65 TC65 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Ryde UK
Posts: 12
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Thanks. I checked this out too but can`t see any problems. One to keep for the future no doubt.

TC65
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2016, 12:08 AM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Daryl Ramm posted this in another thread. I have a feeling it will help with your problem, too. I'm too lazy to type so I'll just paste his reply.

Welcome to DUC.

So nothing is outputting sound? First get a basic audio track to work then get more complicated with VIs etc., so to start...

Did you install the latest (Windows 10 compatible) Windows device driver for the Audio-Box?

When Pro Tools starts up hold down the 'N' key on your keyboard and keep it held down until the Pro Tools playback engine dialog box finally appears, then select the audio-box as the playback engine. If it is not listed in that pulldown tell us what is. Do not assume this is being selected correctly if you do not do this, always at least check in Setup>Playback Engine

Now create an empty Pro Tools session, not from a template.

In that Session create a new stereo *audio* track and then drag and drop any known good MP3 or similar audio file from your desktop onto that track in Pro Tools.

Press play. Do you hear that out the monitors? Does the audio track meter move in Pro Tools? Make sure the mixer knob on the interface is turned all the way to playback and the main volume is turned up. Also try headphones connected to that interface and turn their volume up.

If that does not work, posting screenshots of the Pro Tools mix window showing IO assignments, the playback engine dialog panel and Setup>IO>Output and Setup>IO>Bus would likely help.

If you don't understand anything mentioned here, try first googling for info on that and then ask, folks here are happy to explain stuff if you need it.
---

Also if you are totally new it is usually much better to get started by following some tutorials than trying to work stuff out yourself. YouTube has lot of great tutorials on getting started with Pro Tools, and especially on working with VIs (for after you get the immediate problem sorted out) etc. It's just too complex a product to try to grope your way through, so I definitely encourage you to go back to YouTube and try again there.
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2016, 02:23 AM
yoerik yoerik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ghent, Belgium
Posts: 193
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Probably a driver issue. With quite some soundcard drivers out there protools can't set/changethe sample rate itself and you have to set the samplerate in the sound card's or Windows control panel before launching PT.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2016, 10:07 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Quote:
Originally Posted by TC65 View Post
Hi - once again even more problems with the wonderful pro tools.

Now I am getting `the current playback engine does not support a sample rate of 44KHz.

I have not changed anything? I always use 48KHz. I cannot find a solution in Setup or anywhere?

Thanks

TC65
No doubt a Hardware Setting or Playback Engine issue, but you've provided zero info about your system, so how can we help?
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-10-2016, 04:10 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 527
Default Re: sample rate of 44.1HX not supported

Try Holding down the N key when the splash screen starts to change the audio engine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hopefully an easy one for you guys: Opening 8 KHz sample rate / 16 bit sample size sample Pro Tools 11 2 02-24-2016 01:04 PM
ASIO Sample Rate is not supported by one or more USB interfaces born26s Windows 1 11-29-2014 02:12 PM
ASIO one or more usb ports sample rate not supported trev27 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 12-06-2012 03:50 PM
Focusrite Saffire 56 Sample Rate Problems - Sample rates changing during start up finalcut Windows 12 02-20-2012 04:00 AM
Bit Rate/Sample Rate problem? The chipmunks? bspro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-17-2008 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com