Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2016, 08:03 AM
redmount redmount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 30
Default Control surface : Mix + Virtual Inst control (PT12 HD)

Hello,

what control surface would you recommend for "live" virtual intruments tweaking (Omnisphere 2 for example)...
Was starting, then stopped, considering Novation SL MkII series, until I found that AAX plug ins were not supported...
I would love to find a compact block of faders + rotating knobs + maybe a little keyboard - 2 octaves, to control mixing in PT 12 and have access to VI modulations controls.

Thanks for your help
Raf
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2016, 09:33 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,407
Default Re: Control surface : Mix + Virtual Inst control (PT12 HD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redmount View Post
Hello,

what control surface would you recommend for "live" virtual intruments tweaking (Omnisphere 2 for example)...
Was starting, then stopped, considering Novation SL MkII series, until I found that AAX plug ins were not supported...
I would love to find a compact block of faders + rotating knobs + maybe a little keyboard - 2 octaves, to control mixing in PT 12 and have access to VI modulations controls.

Thanks for your help
Raf
Something to keep in mind is whether the faders are motorized or not. This makes a difference especially during mixing because if they're not then whenever you move a fader levels will jump to whatever the fader is at at the time. UNLESS the software driver for the controller only makes a level change when the controller fader reaches the point where the fader level is in PT (or whatever daw software you're using. Automap control functioning is a crapshoot at best.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2016, 11:25 AM
redmount redmount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 30
Default Re: Control surface : Mix + Virtual Inst control (PT12 HD)

Thanks for this...
So, is the Avid Artist series THE go to option ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2016, 05:25 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,407
Default Re: Control surface : Mix + Virtual Inst control (PT12 HD)

Quote:
Originally Posted by redmount View Post
Thanks for this...
So, is the Avid Artist series THE go to option ?
Not really. Besides they don't have a music keyboard. If you want that in the equation then you're limited. If you can skip that then there's a couple of Behringer units that seem pretty good. And which one you get depends on how much a priority vi control is.

If having a keyboard is a necessity take a look at Arturia's Keylab series.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2016, 02:42 PM
redmount redmount is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Paris - France
Posts: 30
Default Re: Control surface : Mix + Virtual Inst control (PT12 HD)

Thanks for this... keyboard is absolutely not needed. Already have a 88notes kb. Main purpose is to control multiple VI parameters live. I'll check the Behringer options
Cheers
Raf
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Track Fader Used as a Virtual Control Surface? Kincavel Pro Tools 12 0 03-09-2016 08:21 PM
Control Surface For Protools 10 Mackie Pro Control or Avid Artist Control lberrios1962 Pro Tools 10 18 05-26-2012 12:51 AM
D-Control Es32 Control Surface No Sound from Headphone outputs mark007 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-08-2012 07:03 PM
Virtual Midi Control Surface - Is there any? Nomad76 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-22-2010 09:47 PM
Mackie Control Universal or Tascam 1082 for control surface? anders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-28-2007 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com