Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2010, 05:48 PM
Voxer22 Voxer22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

Has anyone had problems with that combo? I have an MBox 2 Pro and a s/pdif processor. Just sold a brand-new screaming 27" iMac cuz it won't work with that config. Wanna make sure I'm buying a box that'll work this time.

Thanks for any input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2010, 07:01 PM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

huh? 27" iMac should be awesome with Mbox 2 Pro. Sure you didn't just have the wrong cable? Or wrong version of PT for snow leopard?
If you had problems with the iMac then the mini will have the same problems, they have the same i/o options.

Either way you'll need a second hard drive connected with Firewire.
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2010, 08:48 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

audiogeekzine is right - this should work great with a 27" iMac.

What kinds of problems were you having, exactly?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2010, 09:03 AM
chrissyb chrissyb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

....What?

Now I'm very confused - I was told the issues with the new Imacs were software (PT issues) for which an update is in the pipeline for a future release.

If it's a software issue with PT surely it would affect anything your plugging in to the Mbox...?????

This message directly contradicts this - what's going on? By the same token my I5 should play nicely with the Mbox - and it doesn't.

PLEASE CLARIFY....!

Chris
__________________
PT LE 8.0.5
Mac OS 10.6.8
Imac i5
Eleven Rack
Axiom Pro 61
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2010, 09:40 AM
audiogeekzine audiogeekzine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrissyb View Post
....What?

Now I'm very confused - I was told the issues with the new Imacs were software (PT issues) for which an update is in the pipeline for a future release.

If it's a software issue with PT surely it would affect anything your plugging in to the Mbox...?????

This message directly contradicts this - what's going on? By the same token my I5 should play nicely with the Mbox - and it doesn't.

PLEASE CLARIFY....!

Chris
As DTS asked, what are the problems you're having?
PLEASE CLARIFY....!
__________________
@theaudiogeek
| www.EPICSounds.ca | www.AudioGeekZine.com | www.HomeRecordingShow.com |
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2010, 10:27 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,831
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

For what it is worth, I'm running an older Mac Mini (Intel CoreDuo) with either a USB Mbox2Mini or Firewire Digi002R using OSX10.6.2 (now upgraded to 10.6.3) and Protools LE 8.0.3cs1 (now upgraded to 8.0.3cs2) and all is running well. I of course use a compatible external 7200 Firewire drive. I can't speak for the newer Mac Minis with the Firewire 800 port however and I can't speak for the Mbox2Pro. Most of the people having major issues like Chrissyb seem to be on the new i5 or i7 iMacs
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.6 running Protools 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2010, 10:33 AM
chrissyb chrissyb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

Yes I think audiogeekzine is getting me confused with the thread starter!

I added my input because I have been informed by DTS that the i5/i7 issue is software based - a solution is in the pipeline...

So if it is a software problem - it could potentially affect all hardware units on the imacs. (Unless it was specifically USB the software problem, but this contradicts what I've been told)

So the statement that the Mbox2 (albeit pro) should be rock solid on the i7 does not make sense - (to me anyway).

It would be great to see this cleared up, via some kind of bulletin...

Chris
__________________
PT LE 8.0.5
Mac OS 10.6.8
Imac i5
Eleven Rack
Axiom Pro 61
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2010, 10:48 AM
Numi Numi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 376
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

I have a newer Mac Mini with the stock hard drive, 4G of RAM, OWC Mercury Firewire 800 drive. Everything works Great! Lastest OS and Updates. You won't be able to run a ton of VI's..but it should be rock solid.

Also, you should go MacMini>Hard Drive>Mbox2 Pro when you connect the Firewire Cable, using a 800 to 400 cable.

I would recommend this config for anyone wanting something easy and quiet.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-01-2010, 12:24 PM
Voxer22 Voxer22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Triple-checking! :: Mac Mini ok w/ Mbox2Pro

The kicker here was the s/pdif. It may have worked fine without it, but I wasn't interested in working without it ; )

Trust me, people, I tried EVERY possible combination of hardware/software/settings/routing/stand-on-my-frickin-head-while juggling-hamsters to try to get even a smidgen of audio onto a track. No worky!

If you snoop around here or gearslutz for iMac i5/MBox2Pro/spdif combinations you will find that no one has been able to make it work.

I'm no longer interested in solutions for this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triple Channel or not bonzerboy Pro Tools 11 10 10-10-2013 02:48 PM
Mbox2Pro through LaCie Rugged Triple Martimeus FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 14 04-26-2013 02:53 PM
Mac Mini/8.0.3/MBox2Pro/SPDIF Voxer22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-01-2010 05:03 PM
new mac mini->harddriveFW800->mbox2pro??? Numi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-24-2009 09:24 PM
TC Triple C Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-14-2003 05:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com