Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2007, 12:11 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default seperating velocity and note length? is it possible?

is it possible "force" a separation between the velocity attributes of the notes and the length attributes, all other midi variables (rhythm, and the starting point of the notes, etc.) being the same.

For example, if there's 2 identical track a and b. every thing is the exept the note length and velocity values. Now, i like the velocities of track a, but the note lengths of track b. Can i mass copy ONLY AND ONLY the velocities of track b, and paste them into track b without chaning the notelenths of the track (keeping them intact)???...please comment.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2007, 02:45 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: seperating velocity and note length? is it possible?

Read this thread Link ...same question posed from myself.






filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2007, 10:43 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: seperating velocity and note length? is it possible?

Thanks man, looks like you figured it out using "DIGI GROOVE TEMPLATE"...i didn't get how you did it though. If you got a chance, can you throw a line or two for us so we too solve this mystery, please?...thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2007, 11:09 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: seperating velocity and note length? is it possible?

DigiGroove Templates - look it up in the Reference Guide.

Extracting a Groove Template is done using Beat Detective and you don't need the full version. Either save to Clipboard or to Disk for future use. Make sure to uncheck 'Timing' and check 'Velocity' in the Grid/Groove Quantise Options.

The whole process is a little temperamental, though, through trial and error it can be done.







filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length kingofallwookies Pro Tools 11 2 02-07-2014 07:10 AM
VSL - velocity of a note never goes down to silent Richard901 Virtual Instruments 1 02-07-2009 10:28 AM
Pro-Tools Note-Event (Note-off Velocity?) xytsrm Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 01-10-2006 08:02 PM
Hear Note While Changing Velocity relaxo MIDI 5 11-16-2005 10:27 AM
Midi note velocity quantize on the fly: possible? seth666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-13-2005 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com