Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2014, 03:59 PM
andrew24c andrew24c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Default "Pro Tools quit unexpectedly" when opening (holding "n" no longer fixes it)[RESOLVED]

When opening Pro Tools 10.3.9, it gets through all of the plugins and then right before opening... "setting up peripherals..." crashes. Holding "n" used to work to fix this but recently stopped. Strangely like 1 out of every 10 times Pro Tools will open completely fine (usually just after a computer restart).

Troubleshooting I've tried so far:
Updating apogee symphony firmware
Clean uninstall/re instal of apogee maestro application
Clean un-install/ re install of pro tools
Un plug/re plug iLoks/re start computer
Holding "n" when launching (randomly works - not often though)

This is my first post, and read the help us help you, tried to be as specific as possible but let me know if you need any more info. Thanks!

System:
Mac Pro (2011) 10.6.8
2 x 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Inel Xeon
8 GB 800 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
4 Internal Hard Drives (all 7200 rpm)
Bay 1: 4TB HGST HUS724040ALE640 (extra misc storage) 3.54TB free
Bay 2: 2TB Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 (Pro Tools session disk) 15GB free
Bay 3: 1TB ST31000333AS (Sample Libraries) 20GB free
Bay 4: 1TB ST31000340AS (Main Drive - Applications, system files etc) 200GB free
Pro Tools 10.3.9
Apogee Symphony (USB 2.0 - back of computer)
Yamaha Motif XF6, Motu Midi Express 128, Virus Ti, Apple Keyboard (x2), Kensington Mouse (x2), iLok 2 (x2) (All plugged into a powered Belkin USB 2.0 hub)
Not sure if this matters but we run 2 displays, keyboards, and mouses at the front and back of room in order to be able to work from different areas of the room
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2014, 04:28 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: "Pro Tools quit unexpectedly" when opening (holding "n" no longer fixes it)

I'd try the general OSX maintenance items:
Permission Repair
P-RAM clearing
toss and rebuild the Pro Tools Preferences files
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-23-2014, 05:18 PM
andrew24c andrew24c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Default Re: "Pro Tools quit unexpectedly" when opening (holding "n" no longer fixes it)

tried those, no success though...

weirdly enough taking the waveshell 9.2 (licensed not cracked) out of our plugin folder fixes the problem. pretty confused by this as the crash issue happens way after the plugins are scanned. so now Pro Tools is 100% fixed with no waveshell 9.2

anyway this led me to waves, spoke to them and they recommended i take all plugins EXCEPT the waveshell 9.2 from our folder. this also fixed the issue. So they no longer think its a waves problem.

So where we stand now is that pro tools opens 100% fine with either ONLY waves plugins, or all of our other plugins and NO waves plugins.

Very confused by this
I also saved the apple crash report if that helps i can post it.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-23-2014, 06:18 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: "Pro Tools quit unexpectedly" when opening (holding "n" no longer fixes it)

well the current download V9r19 released July 23rd, 2014 http://www.waves.com/downloads/v9
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-23-2014, 07:21 PM
andrew24c andrew24c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Default Re: "Pro Tools quit unexpectedly" when opening (holding "n" no longer fixes it)

fixed. had 2 sets of soundtoys plugins in the plugins folder. no idea why removing waves was fixing this. deleted one of the soundtoys folders and now good to go. thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Quit Unexpectedly neilwilsonvoiceovers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-21-2010 02:13 PM
Can a firewire cable that's longer cause PT to Quit Unexpectedly ? oulablank 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-07-2009 02:19 AM
Pro Tools 8 has quit unexpectedly leobaker Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 06-13-2009 12:10 PM
Pro Tools LE 7.3 quit unexpectedly Stetsyuk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-19-2007 10:36 AM
protools unexpectedly quit opening certain session rowan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-24-2004 08:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com