Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2005, 05:58 PM
danhops danhops is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default I\'m jumpin in

and getting the 1814 along with the LE software. I dont need all the extra things, and I'm saving around 2-300 off of what the 002 would run me. I think this will do quite nicely, and with the $ I save I can put it toward a Digimax or something like that. I'll report how it all works once the stuff comes in.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2005, 08:23 PM
Loudnoize Ent. Loudnoize Ent. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 482
Default Re: I\'m jumpin in

Danhops, what's your take on the 1814 pre's versus the 002? Do you also believe latency will be better?

Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:41 AM
Maarsmusic Maarsmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 61
Default Re: I\'m jumpin in

To my (admittedly brief) exposure to the 002, I can't recall anything "impressive" about the pre-amp.
The 002 is simply a middle of the road, chinese made firewire audio interface -- much like the FW1814.

I think a FW1814 + a rack mount pre-amp would be a great combo. Presonus and Focusrite have some good options and even the Behringer is usable for the price.

Regards,

Markus
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2005, 04:10 PM
danhops danhops is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: I\'m jumpin in

The latency issue with the demo is very minor. Matter of fact, with the demo I was running 20 tracks and plugging direct with my POD and and didnt really feel much latency. I could play along, and it all came back in sync. Could never do that with my old 001 set up. Then again, my computer is much faster than my old rig. I will admit though, I am very impressed with the performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com