Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2012, 08:39 AM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Extending VENUE snake

Hey folks!

I have an obstacle here that I need to work through. Each year we do a live broadcast of our 4th of July show. Due to cost, I have convinced the broadcast engineer to use a Venue this year.

With that being said, we will be using two stage racks and I need to "extend" the snakes past the 250' limitation. The broadcast mix position is about 300-350' away. We currently do have a VENUE/MADI-spec fiber snake (bought it with out MADI stuff). I'm wondering if I can get a recommendation on a device that would possibly convert the BNC snake to fiber and back that would be fantastic. Or...any better options.

Thanks!
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2012, 03:19 PM
Jeff W. Jeff W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 30
Default Re: Extending VENUE snake

I have consistently used the VENUE system with 330' BNC snakes (100 meters). A few times I have extended the Snake with BNC couplers. I don't know the exact length of the extension, but I believe it was between 50'-75'. Your best option is to probably just get cabling that will give you the length you need. Obviously any additional connections along the length of the cable becomes a fail point. Be sure to use high quality BNC cable.

To my knowledge there is no way to convert the VENUE BNC connections to any other format.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2012, 01:15 AM
Roland Clarke Roland Clarke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 210
Default Re: Extending VENUE snake

Although it isn't a Madi snake, I've heard of several people using things like RME madi boxes for splits etc. Although not officially sanctioned, I would speculate you could extend, convert to fibre and back, split, etc, using RME boxes. I would borrow a couple and check it out for myself, prior to the show.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2012, 09:27 AM
Brent Lind Brent Lind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 233
Default Re: Extending VENUE snake

Strictly anecdotal, but most of the worlds touring houses use 350' BNC snakes without issue and I've personally used them on hundreds of shows including right this minute:) FWIW I recommend you use 75ohm cable and Neutrik connectors.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2012, 02:28 PM
ili ili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Chile
Posts: 10
Default Re: Extending VENUE snake

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenmillerjr View Post
Hey folks!

I have an obstacle here that I need to work through. Each year we do a live broadcast of our 4th of July show. Due to cost, I have convinced the broadcast engineer to use a Venue this year.

With that being said, we will be using two stage racks and I need to "extend" the snakes past the 250' limitation. The broadcast mix position is about 300-350' away. We currently do have a VENUE/MADI-spec fiber snake (bought it with out MADI stuff). I'm wondering if I can get a recommendation on a device that would possibly convert the BNC snake to fiber and back that would be fantastic. Or...any better options.

Thanks!
I had the same problem last year. Solution:

http://www.optocore.com/products/dd4mr.html

You can go optical or CAT5 with SANE.

i talked to them and they say it is fully compatible with the Venue standard (AFAIK Optocore helped digidesign originally).

Finally i resolved the situation just by placing the console closer to the source. =) . But the Optocore solution seemed very nice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2012, 09:23 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Extending VENUE snake

250 is limitation for low quality cable, high spec cables can be used for up to 500'

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...ility/en208581

But be sure to use the correct spec cable or you will se CRC errors popping up.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2012, 05:15 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Extending VENUE snake

Hi Ken,

Couple of options here:

1. Use one of the higher grade coax cables recommended here (good to 500'): http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...n&DocType=1083

2. Use an RME MADI coax/fibre converter. These are fully tested and qualified for use this way: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...n&DocType=1083

Optocore offers similar conversion capability with one of their products, but the most recent version of firmware provided to us didn't pass the qualification test for full redundancy, so we can't officially recommend its use.

It's not recommended to extend beyond 250', or to mix different cable grades. Especially on a 4th of July show.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-21-2012, 02:53 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default

Sheldon-
Thanks for the heads up. I'm scared to go that distance, but we got our hands on a 350' BNC Snake that has just come off the road. However, the good news is I did personally test our 250's by coupling them together and that worked like a charm. However, I doubt I will ever use that tho...that scares me. =\
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New webinar: Meet the VENUE SC48 Remote System, Stage 48, and VENUE 3 bobcats VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 03-24-2012 08:35 AM
Venue D Show vs Venue Profile dsmithbsaaudio@cox.net VENUE Live Sound Systems 14 07-06-2011 03:31 PM
VENUE Snake Kenmillerjr VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 01-20-2011 12:55 PM
VENUE D-Show 2.8 Standalone Software for VENUE SC48 Avid VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 05-13-2009 01:30 AM
Venue Snake dstagl VENUE Live Sound Systems 19 07-12-2006 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com