Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2011, 12:22 PM
Jepse Jepse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 157
Default new Mac Pro, Pro Tools 9 and 002r

Hi,

I have a 002r with Signature Series modification which serves my purposes perfectly as interface. I am looking to upgrade to a new Mac Pro 8 Core computer as well as go from pro tools 7.4 to 9. In talking to an AVID rep last week he maintained that the firewire connection with the 002r will severely limit the improvement in the number of plug-ins I can use while recording/mixing which a new computer should provide me. My question to those who have upgraded their computer recently with 002r: have you noticed a significant increase in capability even with the 002r and pro tools 9? Secondly, do people see any future modifications with for example Thunderbolt which may help 002 users take more advantage of the faster computers available?

Thanks for your response, or link to discussion where this topic may have been discussed.

Jepse
__________________
MacBook Pro 2019 15 inch 32 GB RAM
Pro Tools 19.6
Apollo X8P
RPQ2 Stereo PreAmp
Some Analog Gear, Various Mics
Guitars, Electric, Acoustic, Piano
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2011, 01:39 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,295
Default Re: new Mac Pro, Pro Tools 9 and 002r

That's an odd thing to say as the firewire bus should have zero effect on how plugins run(or how many you can run). Plugins are handled by the cpu(unless you have a TDM system or something like a UAD card setup). There is really no difference in performance with the 002 and any other firewire interface (excepting for the BLA mods making it sound better than some). A new 8 core Mac and PT9 should rock your world and the old 002 can take the ride with you. FWIW, my local Avid genius recommends 6-8GB of RAM, no more, no less. He said that amount will net the best performance overall, and any more RAM will not help(and might actually hurt a little). He sells plenty of systems, so I trust his opinions. Mac Pro 8 core, 8GB of RAM, 3 SATA drives and shoot for the moon!
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-29-2011, 05:25 PM
Jepse Jepse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 157
Default Re: new Mac Pro, Pro Tools 9 and 002r

Well that sounds far more promising. The concern from the rep as he described it was the "bottleneck" of the 002r's 400 Firewire port. According to him, the speed of data transfer limited the ability of the 002r to make full use of a new computer's capabilities, limiting track count and number of plug-ins on those tracks. He said the FW400 bottle neck for whatever Pro Tools version is the throughput which prompts the "remove tracks and plugins" dialog box. Apparently, the 400 megabits FW capability of the 002r pales in comparison to the HD native and consequently it was suggested to consider a PCIe system.

I am not that up to speed with the technical limitations of Firewire but would be very happy if I could significantly increase track count and plug-in use with my 002r. By the way, your computer is bang on for what the rep recommended in terms of memory and number of cores.

Jepse
__________________
MacBook Pro 2019 15 inch 32 GB RAM
Pro Tools 19.6
Apollo X8P
RPQ2 Stereo PreAmp
Some Analog Gear, Various Mics
Guitars, Electric, Acoustic, Piano
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anybody tried a 002r with Pro Tools 11? kierkegaard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-23-2013 03:52 PM
does the 002r work only with pro tools LE?? trez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 03-08-2006 08:38 PM
002R with Pro Tools LE 6.5?? Bermaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-14-2004 09:53 AM
Pro Tools 002R Latency. Maybe it's Just Me? RPhilbeck 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 41 05-11-2004 03:09 PM
002R and Pro Tools 5.21 in OS 9 - Possible? burstingwith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-21-2003 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com