Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2015, 04:37 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 424
Default replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

I'm looking at building a second recording setup for a different location, I currently use a Digidesign rack+ 003.

Before I start looking for a second rack+ 003, I thought I'd get some seasoned advice for a modern replacement.

Requirements

a.) 8 in - the same as the rack+ 003 - good pre's
b.) 8 individual controls for the 8 in
c.) ability to hook in additional in e.g.: currently I use an octepre le via adat/lightpipe to give me another 8 in

best possible connector to mac eg: firewire 400/800/thunderbolt direct.

what would be a good direct swap out ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2015, 02:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

For firewire, MOTU, RME and Focusrite Saffire each have something that covers what the 003 does quite nicely. Going Thunderbolt gives a few fewer options, but they are still good options(Focusrite Clarett range, MOTU and UA Apollo(lots more $$) are all solid choices).

Be aware that most of these 3rd party interfaces MIGHT require you to use that company's routing/monitor utility, which may have some effect on how you work. Buying a used 003 is probably the cheapest option
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2015, 07:21 PM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 424
Default Re: replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

thanks for the response, maybe I'm being slow here, but I don't see any of these device with 8 inputs and pre's like the rack+ 003 - and certainly none with 8 input controls (1 per input) like the rack+ 003 ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2015, 09:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,629
Default Re: replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

You're not looking very hard

http://www.motu.com/products/motuaudio/8pre
http://www.motu.com/products/motuaudio/896mk3
http://us.focusrite.com/firewire-aud...saffire-pro-40
http://us.focusrite.com/firewire-aud...uid-saffire-56
http://us.focusrite.com/clarett-rang...tt-8pre(coming soon)
http://www.rme-audio.de/en/products/fireface_802.php
http://www.rme-audio.de/en/products/fireface_800.php

Now the RME boxes only have 4 mic preamps, but I don't see this as bad(consider the same regarding the 003rack non + version). The stock preamps on many of these boxes are fairly neutral or bland, so why buy 8 of them when its so easy to include 4 external preamps with more "character". I'm thinking along the lines of API 3124, Focusrite ISA428, Vintech 473. For me, having at least a few "great" preamps is more important, but YMMV)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2015, 11:43 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

It´s all in albee´s list already but I´m still gonna post some details.

This brand new Focusrite Clarett Series seems to be pretty cool stuff.
True Thunderbolt (latency 1ms!), ISA mic preamps, ADAT, SPDIF etc.
So this one seems to be great for the price.
http://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-cl...terface/110813
http://uk.focusrite.com/clarett-range#clarett-8pre
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Clarett8Pre

This is the top of the line model, still affordable for what it will offer imo
http://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-cl...terface/110814
http://uk.focusrite.com/clarett-range#clarett-8prex
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Clarett8PreX

I think these will finally beat every version of 003s by far, even the modded ones.

If being on a budget the Saffire Pro 40 is always great value for the money and
used successfully with Pro Tools 11 by countless users out there. Additionally
it´s been told to offer much better sonic quality than all the original 003s.
On both, converters as well as preamps.
http://www.gak.co.uk/en/focusrite-saffire-pro-40/21402
http://uk.focusrite.com/firewire-aud...saffire-pro-40
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/SaffPro40

In the upper price range (if being on a Mac) I also would recommend the new
Apogee Ensemble (8 preamps, high end converters, true Thunderbolt etc.)
http://www.gak.co.uk/en/apogee-ensem...erface-/105158
http://www.apogeedigital.com/products/ensemble
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/EnsembleTB

All in all those new Focusrites may be the best bet probably (value for the money).


Cheers, VRW



Mac Mini i7Quad, 16GB Ram, MBP Mid 2012 2,5GHz i5, 16GB Ram, Mac OSX 10.10.3 Yosemite, Apogee Quartet+Duet 2
Genelec Active, Yamaha NS10, Pro Tools 11.3.1, Logic 10.1.1, Waves, MCDSP, Duende Native, HOFA, IK Multimedia, NI etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2015, 11:01 AM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 335
Default Re: replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

The Clarett 8Pre X looks mighty interesting to me.

Perhaps instead of HD|N upgrade? We'll see.
__________________
Squaw Creek Road Studio
Bob
Pro Tools Standard (current version)| Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Sibelius Ultimate (current version)
| 3.5GHz quad-core i7 iMac w/32GB RAM | macOS Mojave |

Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-17-2015, 05:12 AM
Matt Darcy Matt Darcy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bath UK
Posts: 424
Default Re: replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

went for the Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt and Octopre mk II connected via light pipe - 16 XLR inputs and some jack and spdif goodness, big upgrade to connecting via thunderbolt, so I'm really keen to see how this works out, on paper should be a huge upgrade from my rack 003
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-17-2015, 08:02 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: replacing a Digidesign rack+ 003, suggestions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Darcy View Post
on paper should be a huge upgrade from my rack 003
Oh yes!!
You will be impressed.
Congratulations and lots of fun!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on replacing 002 rack soundmind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-05-2011 05:56 PM
Replacing Digidesign license for iLok brendanfullam Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-06-2010 03:53 PM
Replacing USB on Eleven Rack with Firewire? mix_master_adam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-27-2010 04:47 PM
Replacing 002 Rack with MBOX 2 PRO ??? waterbedman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 02-27-2007 05:32 PM
Replacing my MOTU midi interface...Suggestions? SHIRK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-26-2005 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com