Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2016, 06:56 AM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Who Is Eligible for 12.5.1?

I just read the notice that Pro Tools 12.5.1 is available. I have 12.5.0. Since 12.5.1 is a bug fix (a large bug fix, it appears) will everyone who has a license for 12.5.0 receive the 12.5.1 download in their account automatically?

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2016, 07:47 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Who Is Eligible for 12.5.1?

You have to be on an active support plan or subscription to get ANY new release of Pro Tools. New releases will show up in your Avid account for download if you are current. If you do not have a current support plan (or subscription), then you are frozen at the last version available when your plan lapsed.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2016, 08:06 AM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Who Is Eligible for 12.5.1?

So, how do bug fixes get sent? I thought when I purchased the HD plan that ended in March 2016, I would still get bug fixes. Did I not read that correctly?

As an aside, am I correct that if I want to purchase a Pro Tools Dock I need 12.5.1? If I want 12.5.1 I have to purchase a $1000 support plan for HD native? Therefore the price of the Pro Tools Dock is really $2200?

Do I have all that right? I'm sure I remember that bug fixes would be included. Doesn't the x.x.1 indicate a bug fix release? 12.6 would be a minor capability change.

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2016, 08:41 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Who Is Eligible for 12.5.1?

When Avid first announced the new sales model (in a video), I believe they did mention that fixes would be free. But that changed between the announcement and the start of selling PT 12 (new licensing), you have to be on an active support plan to get all updates.

The dock is supported with 12.5+ http://www.avid.com/products/pro-too...specifications so it should work with 12.5.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2016, 08:59 AM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Who Is Eligible for 12.5.1?

From the ReadMe:

The EUCON AppSet for Pro Tools | Dock is installed automatically with Pro Tools 12.5.1. This AppSet is required for proper Dock button functionality. Refer to the “Optimizing EuControl After a Pro Tools Update” section of the Pro Tools | Dock guide or visit Pro Tools | Dock Support for setup instructions. Learn more about Pro Tools | Dock here.


Having reread this, if I copied the xml file manually (from the my.avid download), then does this cover this change on 12.5.1?

Finally (?), I was told the HD native support plan was $600 for pre-expiration renewal. I just looked at the FAQ and it shows it was $400 for pre-expiration renewal. Did that price change prior to March 2016 or was I misinformed about the $600 price? Of course, it is a ridiculous $1K now.

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2016, 09:13 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Who Is Eligible for 12.5.1?

I don't think that would be necessary, the Dock has been working for users with 12.5. Otherwise there wouldn't have been anyone using it until today!

I don't recall the pricing changing, as far as I remember it has been $399 to renew since the new licensing came in effect.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2016, 09:23 AM
alk3997 alk3997 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 75
Default Re: Who Is Eligible for 12.5.1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelG View Post
I don't think that would be necessary, the Dock has been working for users with 12.5. Otherwise there wouldn't have been anyone using it until today!

I don't recall the pricing changing, as far as I remember it has been $399 to renew since the new licensing came in effect.

Joel
Thanks for the info. I probably should take further Pro Tools Dock questions to that section of the forum.

Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I eligible for crossgrade? sw0mgt Pro Tools 10 1 08-16-2012 08:36 AM
PT9 Crossgrade Eligible? SEPTICTHRASH Pro Tools 9 4 06-08-2011 02:00 AM
Eligible for Crossgrade? eternitysgate Pro Tools 9 3 05-15-2011 12:51 PM
7.4 Upgrade.... Eligible? pguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-22-2008 05:03 AM
"eligible" ifoundthetime 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-19-2005 12:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com